Easter. in 2016

  • March 28, 2016, 5:12 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Easter was unexpectedly lovely. I say ‘unexpectedly’ because my sweet little baby has not been sleeping well. And even when she does sleep, I’ve been having maddening bouts of insomnia. And I have had some not-so-great middle of the night and early morning moments lately, and it’s been rough. So after two TERRIBLE nights in a row, I started out the day by being a jerk to Aaron AND Aurion, and it was not cool. But then Joaquin said something very sweet to me, and I realized in that moment that I could make a choice to NOT SUCK all day long, and just try to power through so we could make some nice Easter 2016 Memories. So I did that. And the day ended up being great.

I mean, how can you stay cranky when this is happening:
Untitled
Untitled

First, we had a nice breakfast and Joaquin was in a jolly mood since HE slept almost 12 hours, which is great for him. I hung out with him and Aurion while Aaron went for a run on the treadmill. Then I showered and we got the kids dressed up in their adorable Easter outfits and got ready to head to the Americana to meet the Easter bunny and hang out for a bit.

Untitled

It was such a nice day, and Aurion slept the whole time we were in line (almost an hour), while Aaron took Joaquin to get a new book and coffees for us. (BECAUSE DEAD TIRED, WE WERE)

The photo shoot was amusing, and then we just hung out for a bit enjoying the day.

Untitled
Untitled
Untitled
Untitled

We grabbed a few Sprinkles cupcakes for dessert and headed home to prep dinner for us + Aaron’s mom & brother, Andrew.

Joaquin had an especially good time:
Untitled
Untitled
Untitled

And dinner was amazing. Miso-glazed cod with jasmine rice, mushrooms and asparagus + a pear, almond and bleu cheese salad with balsamic dressing. We enjoyed Prosecco and Sauvingnon Blanc as well. Perfect!

Untitled

For dessert we each enjoyed a cupcake.

Overall, a great day and my kids were awesome and adorable.

Untitled


TrippyNina March 28, 2016

Oh my goodness, your children are ADORABLE!
I hear ya on the no sleep issue. Logan is the worst sleeper in all the land. He's almost two and still gives me grief almost nightly. Work has been super demanding lately so I've been stressed and crabby some days. I just keep telling myself that it won't last forever. (and also that Logan is lucky he's so cute!) ;)

rubix cube TrippyNina ⋅ April 04, 2016

Have you tried "sleep training"? We did it this weekend and she's now sleeping 6-8 hour stretches!!

TrippyNina rubix cube ⋅ April 04, 2016

I haven't. I must, it seems! Is there a certain book you recommend? I'll be researching this as soon as I'm done eating! LOL

rubix cube TrippyNina ⋅ April 05, 2016

There are so many books! I think one of the best is The Sleep Easy Solution.... Good luck!!!

MaggieTheCat March 28, 2016

Your kids ARE adorable!!! :D :D :D

rubix cube MaggieTheCat ⋅ April 04, 2016

thank you !! :)

.kate. March 29, 2016

For whatever reason, I feel like Easter is the best of all holiday options. Dressy babies, time w the fam, etc., but somehow it's way less stressful than Christmas or thanksgiving ever are.

rubix cube .kate. ⋅ April 04, 2016

Yes, for sure. Lower expectations = much more fun.

Blue Denim April 02, 2016

A gorgeous, beautiful family! 😀

rubix cube Blue Denim ⋅ April 04, 2016

thank you!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.