I have a plan in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • March 28, 2016, 12:14 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I will write about my plan later in the entry.

Easter was good. It was chilly and then rained (not sprinkles and not showers) but hard rain for about 30 minutes. It was still lightly raining when they Church egg hunt took place, but the kids didn’t mind one bit. Thankfully it wasn’t raining hard and they all hunted and found the treats pretty quickly. I was so thrilled that J went with me this morning. He was sporting his new shoes that was in his Easter basket and a new shirt that I had embroidered the WWE logo and his name on the left front. He was so proud of those two Easter gifts.

J going with me to Easter services pretty much help relieve my anxiety and dread of the upcoming afternoon. I have no idea why I was dreading the arrival of everyone but I was and was almost on the verge of tears about 9am just thinking about it. I hoe I’m not having some kind of mental slip. Guess time will tell. The weather didn’t allow any of the kids to play outside until a bit later in the afternoon. I thought it was too cold and wet for them to play outside, but it wasn’t my call. However it was my call to find jackets for 3 of 5 kids and just couldn’t believe that my sons’ kids didn’t have jackets. And they wonder why the kids get sick.

Our menu consisted of grilled pork steak, hamburger patties and hot dogs. Sides were macaroni salad, creme cheese corn, Chinese coleslaw, broccoli and cauliflower salad, baked beans, deviled eggs, a veggie and pickle tray with various Coke products to drink or milk or water. The deserts were also varied and I had bought a fresh pineapple to cut and slice for a fruit option for desert. Guess where it is? Yep, in my fridge, uncut and whole. Guess I’ll do it to it this week. DIL made an oreo peanut butter type of desert with chocolate melted on top. OMGoodness it is rich. Too rich to eat more than 1” square of it. It is much like a peanut butter fudge instead of cake. Too sweet for my taste but everyone did have a taste.

Gave Isaiah his birthday gift when the arrived here since they were the 1st ones to arrive. It is a new Hot Wheels invention (according the toy manager at Walmart) and was just in and on the shelf. The “new” part is it is hot wheel car that splits down the middle and there is a track to go with it. So I bought the track that had one car included and then bought another car so he would have two cars for the dual lane track. He wasn’t impressed at first but after the meal and Easter egg hunt he and O took another serious look at it and set it up and think it was a hit after all. However, next time, I will get smaller gifts so he has more to open. Not sure what I was thinking but he was a bit disappointed when he only got the one big gift. I know better at Christmas not sure why I changed it for his Birthday.

So my sister and Jack didn’t leave until 7:45pm. We had a good chat and talk.

My Plan:
There is history from yesterday that inspired me but will not go into now.
I’m going to begin purging and reorganizing the back part of the utility room. This is where the hot water heater, water softener, water tank, and deep freeze sit. I have one shelf unit that is hard plastic and a small cabinet to store appliances such as griddle, canner, etc that aren’t used often. I also keep my cake and pie carriers back there, canning jars, and things that are taking up room because I keep things I shouldn’t. So I went to Walmart this morning and bought a 6ft metal shelving unit. Then went to Lowe’s and bought 3 pieces of lumber to make a shelf for above the deep freeze if I want and then a finished piece for a shelf in the guest room, if I want, and a 12ft piece to use for shelves or whatever I need it for. So that is the plan and I plan to begin NLT than 1 pm today. I already have a 30 something gal garbage can back there and sorta started this morning, but I need to organize and need more shelves. IF I can throw away enough crap, I will be able to move things out of other part of the utility room where my washer and dryer are and put them in the back room. I’m kind of excited cause I actually have a plan. I should do a before and after picture but I’m embarrassed on how it looks right now so maybe not. Guess I will take a picture and see how it looks when I’m done. Course most of you already know I have issues with organization no matter how hard I try. Maybe, just maybe, this time will stay organized unlike my sewing/crafting room.

Hoping everyone had a good day yesterday. Take care and God Bless


GypsyWynd March 28, 2016

It's good to have a plan. Good luck implementing it!

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm March 28, 2016

well, i love it when people get the decluttering bug. it's really a lot of fun. i enjoy doing it. bits at a time, no need to rush in and tackle the whole mess all at once. little bits at a time. do you use power tools to cut the wood to size? if so, then, i'm very impressed! take care,

middle age pearl Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ March 28, 2016

I do use my power tools which I LOVE to do. I have my own set of lighter weight saw horses and I normally use the cordless power tools, unless I need more power or the batteries run down for the cordless tools. I've wanted to get to the point of using the table saw down in the shop, however, we seem to add more yard machine to the shop making it difficult to have the room to use it. I'm not giving up to be able to eventually be able to use the table saw in time. If not, it wasn't to be. I also have an electric chain saw that I plan to use this spring. I just have to careful to keep the chain tight and to keep oil in it. I used it last summer when the grandsons were here and they were very impressed. It will stay off limits to the grands for a few more years. It may be smaller and have a cord, but it could still do some damage to young or old appendages if not focused.

Deleted user March 28, 2016

My friend had a sign on her desk which said a cluttered desk is a sign of an organized mind.

aunty EM March 29, 2016

I like a good plan!

Spirit Song March 29, 2016

Sounds like a good plan. I am so excited for you (and impressed that you use power tools!) So glad you had a good Easter.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.