A day of SUN and warm temperatures in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • March 26, 2016, 6:56 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It did start out chilly and I did cover my flowering bush on Thursday night, but not last night and all is fine. The freeze did kill my Easter Lilies however they were about done anyway. I mowed the yard today. Dude has my tractor mower which I really wanted to use for the first couple of mowings, but couldn’t stand the weed growth. Very little grass is tall yet, but the wild onions and flowering weeds seem to be jumpng up. Since the plan right now is to have an Easter hunt for the grands and my sister’s boy, I decided to mow it anyway with the zero turn. Proud to say I did fine and didn’t hit anything with it or mow anything I shouldn’t have mowed. I did raise the mowing deck up to 5 since the moles have really done a number on my yard. I “think” I did see some new tunnel hills but not sure they were new or some I just hadn’t stepped back down. I will be able to tell a little better now since the grass/weeds kinda hide the hills. Just makes the weeds look taller. Humph!

Changed out one of the purses and took the purple handle off the red denim purse and since I had another pair of baby jeans, I used purple print fabric for it and put the purple handle on it. Then I made a fabric handle to match the red fabric in the other one. Whew!

I went to grocery store and the Dollar Store around 11 today and was back by 1230 and started the macaroni for the macaroni salad. I had boiled eggs this morning to use in the macaroni salad and also will dye some later with J. Bought some pork steak for tomorrow but not sure I have enough but guess it will have to be cause I’m not going back to the store. I also bought hamburger patties earlier in the week and have a big package of hotdogs. What I can’t seem to find are the divided styrofoam plates that I normally use for big family get dinners, but will use real plates for the adults and use the small round styrofoam for the grands. Macaroni salad is in the kitchen fridge and I even cleaned out the fridge in the garage this afternoon. I’ve been needing to wash it out for several weeks and just ignored it. Today I couldn’t seem to ignore a couple of things that needed to be done days ago. Why today? Who the heck knows. Not worried about the house this time and haven’t done much in the category of house WORK. Hate it even worse now than I did when I was working.

Warmed up gulosh for supper and will get the dye ready for the creation of Easter eggs when I’m done here. Not sure J is that interested but going to give him the chance anyway. He said he wanted to, so we’ll see.

Got the phone calls made unsuccessfully for dad on Thursday. Will try and talk to someone who can answer questions next week. Got some papers delivered important for J’s medicare, some bills mailed, and the set of baby stuff mailed on Thursday too. So glad those are checked off my list of to dos. The baby stuff was supposed to there today so am waiting for the expectant parents to let me know when they actually get the package.

I have more to write but need to get off here and get on the egg things before my energy dies. Take care and Happy EASTER!!


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm March 27, 2016

i want to go to church but, i think it would take all morning just to get ready. so, i'm gonna just stay in bed all day. need to rest the doctor says. so, that's what i'm gonna do. no little ones to color eggs for around here. i hope you and your family have a wonderful easter. take care,

Deleted user March 27, 2016

How on earth did you get all these things done when you were working? Happy Easter. :-)

middle age pearl Deleted user ⋅ March 27, 2016

I didn't have the time or take the time to sew as much as I am now. Sewing has been priority lately and I suspect yard work will soon take over that priority. I really may have to hire someone to come in a clean for me. I despise it now as it takes away from my "I want to dos". I can't believe how much I hate doing household chores.

Spirit Song March 28, 2016

Isn't it funny how certain chores that are needed don't bother you until suddenly one day BAM! Can't stand it any longer and have to do it right then?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.