Trial is Over in Muddling Through As Best I Can

  • March 25, 2016, 8:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well it only took three days instead of the five we were told to complete the case against the drunken and drugged driver that killed my son and daughter in law. (I started this post on Wednesday evening, but it’s been an exhausting week)
On Tuesday morning Guzman-Lopez plead guilty based on the evidence already presented, but they continued to present the rest so the jury would have all the evidence to proceed with the punishment phase. I think the fact that he had alcohol, cocaine, and Marijuana, and tried to flee the scene, doomed him from the start. He never once expressed remorse either.
When they presented photos of Shea at the scene and the autopsy photos of her and Bradley, all family left the courtroom except my eldest, Brandon. He wouldn’t leave, so I stayed with him. I had seen them but wanted to spare the boys that sight. I hate that he will carry that with him, but he said he wanted to know. At 30 years old, I can’t order him, so I supported him through it.
At the end, he recieved the maximum penalty of 40 years in prison. He will have to serve at least 20 years of that before becoming eligible for parole. At that point he will be deported back to his country.
So grateful this one thing is resolved. Nothing can bring my children back, but at least we saw justice for their children.
Thanks to everyone here for your thoughts and prayers, and your words of encouragement over these last months, you don’t know how much it has meant to me.
http://www.fox26houston.com/news/112831316-story


Last updated March 25, 2016


NeonLady March 25, 2016

<3

I need tea. March 26, 2016

Xx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.