Waiting waiting in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • March 22, 2016, 11:29 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I hate waiting on someone but also hate someone waiting on me and I avoid and take steps to prevent it as much as possible. Sunday after church I went to a music fund raiser to send kids to summer camp and my SIL was there. She asked me if I was going to be home on Monday so she could bring the new pants down she had asked me to hem for her. I said I would be and that was my downfall. I really intended to go to the store to get a few things like milk, but thought she would call me any minute to say she was coming. Well after ALL day of waiting, she never called or showed up. I know this is more my fault than hers, as I expected her to come yesterday. She didn’t say she WAS coming, she just asked if I was going to be home. I had told her to call first so I could tie up Polka Dot. Long story (and really long day yesterday) short, not doing that again. She needs them by Easter Sunday, but she will now work around my time and my schedule. Not waiting around for her to get me to do something for her again this week!!

This isn’t the first time I’ve done something like this, and I am working on it. I seem to allow myself to be a “slave” to others needs and that needs to reduce and eventually stop. I don’t want to become a selfish old biddy, however, I don’t want to be a worn out floor mat either.

So I spent all day sewing yesterday after I cleaned the house and mopped and swept the kitchen floor. The grands heating and cooling packs are done and one jeans purse. I need to make one more jeans purse then the sewing for Easter gifts will be done. I will try and take a picture of the little purses when I get the 2d one complete if their is time.

As soon as I finish this entry, I AM going to get all my tax receipts out and start on sorting ad adding expenses. I’m running out of time and do not want to do an extension. I’m RETIRED for Pete’s sake and there is no excuse to do an extension other than my unwillingness to just take the time to get it done. HUMPH!!

Have no desire to have all my tax papers spread out if SIL decides today is the day either. I may lock my door, close my drapes and not answer either of my phones today until I am done. Then before I answer any phones, I may head to the store and post office. I need to mail my nephew’s baby blankets and gifts out this week too.

Easter dinner will be here again and I just heard the weather say we have a good chance of rain for the morning and the temperature will only get in the 50s. Oh well, it has happened before and if it is too wet and cold the big kids can hide the eggs (plastic filled) in the house. They are going to assign a color to each kid so no one gets more than anyone else. Good idea, huh?

Ok. I’ve put it off long enough so will end this entry, get out my little table and my container of receipts, which is a big ziplock bag and get started on the dreaded task at hand.

Take care and God Bless

EDIT-It is now 9:27 AM and after I had something for breakfast (scrambled eggs and toast) I am done with my preparation of tax stuff to now turn into the accountant. Don’t know why I wait so long to do this task, when it really doesn’t take very long. Oh well, I’m done with mine and needs to gets Dads BOX of stuff to go through now which I still need to get from him. He will want to “help”. Prayers please.


Last updated March 22, 2016


cardslinger March 22, 2016

Your SIL should have come yesterday if she asked if you were going to be home. That is the implied intent and it would annoy me if someone asked and then didn't show up.
I don't envy your job of doing your taxes. I am glad that RJ needs an accountant to do ours because of RJ being self-employed.
Would love o see pics of your Easter projects.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm March 22, 2016

there is a fine line between a selfish old biddy and a worn out floor mat. i'm learning to walk that line. sometimes, i fall over but, i get up and get back on that line each and every time. lock your door, close your curtains and don't answer your phone til you get done what you want done. not even sure what's happening for easter this year. blake went vegan on us and we have no kids for easter eggs. last time i heard our pastor on easter, he didn't do an easter sermon. so, i'm really not interested in going to church. take care,

GypsyWynd March 22, 2016

That was rude of your s-I-l. she should have called you if she wasn't going to come.
I never answer the front door unless I know who's there (and even then sometimes I don't) Same with the phone, thanks to caller I.D.
Good luck with your taxes.

Ragdolls March 27, 2016

As I taught my daughters, there is a reason the letter O follows N in the alphabet. That is the most important word you'll ever need.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.