More of the same in Diary

  • March 21, 2016, 11:02 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Just talking about roller derby again, as usual. Plus boring car talk.
Yesterday we played our mini roller derby tournament. We won our first game (SQUEE! I’ve now been on the winning team for two games) 61 - 15. I personally got about 12 of those points so I was really pleased with that. So we made it to the final and then it all fell apart. The other team was a lot better than us; no one told us they’d sent some of their best players when it was really supposed to be all B-teams (WHO DOES THAT? It’s just rude.) so they were decimating us. And that made everyone panic and lose their mind, just bumbling about on track in a daze, not working as a team at all. Needless to say they beat us by a country mile, the final score was 135 - 35. I’m surprised we even managed to get that many points to be honest. But oh well, it was an experience and it meant our B-team got to spend some time on track together, which we desperately needed. Overall we ended up 2nd out of 4 which isn’t all too bad.



I’ve taken my car for a new exhaust and a service, which cost £356 altogether. During the service, they discovered all four of my brake discs are 95% worn and need replacing asap, which is about £300. And my cam belt should be replaced every 80,000 miles. I’ve had the car since it had about 60,000 miles on the clock and now it has about 110,000 so I’m going to assume the cam belt has never been changed; I didn’t even know it was something that needed doing. That would also cost about £300. Oh and they found “multiple” oil leaks from the engine and don’t know how much that would cost until they clean it all up and find out where the leaks are coming from. Although I’ve never seen oil dripping onto our driveway?

Anyway, looking at all of that that, it’s going to cost more than the car is worth so I think it’s time for a new car. I’ll have to move quickly if I want to get it before the MOT in May otherwise it’s going to cost a fortune to get it to pass. I’ve decided to get a newer car this time, rather than spending £2,500 in cash and having to spend more than that in repairs over the years, I’d rather spend £5,000+ on a newer car with a lower mileage and have it last longer. So it looks like I’ll be car shopping again soon. Urgh, I’ve only had this one three years, I hate car shopping and it doesn’t seem like that long since I last did it. But a nice shiny new car will be lovely.



Three day week at work this week and then I have my tattoo day on Thursday (eeeee!) and four days with my family up in the Lakes. Hopefully me, Sonja and dad will be going for a walk in the countryside one day; I texted dad and he replied saying he has a few ideas of where we can go so it seems he’s looking forward to it too :o)


Hypnotica March 21, 2016

Oh it seriously bugs me when people play there A team players against a B team - what's the point? I've signed up for the Rainy City scrim on Saturday but the "intermediate" scrim has loads of really advanced players in it so I'm totally dreading it now!

Bomb Shell Hypnotica ⋅ March 21, 2016

Exactly. They're not gaining anything because it's been too easy for them, and we're not gaining anything because it just makes us feel terrible about ourselves :o(I am used to playing with our Alphas every Monday so I don't mind, but there's no point when we're organising scrims against other teams that are supposed to be fun; we should all be of equal level.

Canadian Lass March 21, 2016

I just realized i have a 3 day weekend this week!! which will be nice seeing as D's been gone since Tuesday and wont be back till wed!

Lucretia March 21, 2016

I'm going to pay someone to go shopping for my next car (yes really) I hate it that much. If you're not buying brand new you have no idea what you're getting unless you know cars (and I don't know quite enough yet). Hope you find a nice one, but remember not to buy anything French as they're a devil if they break :)

Bomb Shell Lucretia ⋅ March 21, 2016

After three years of owning a Peugeot and having to replace various different parts including the entire computer unit, I've already fallen victim to that one :o(

Camdengirl March 21, 2016

That seems like a lot of cash in one service... Second opinion maybe?

~Twinkle~ March 21, 2016

Yes we did that and went for a newer car with less mileage, much nicer at service this year! X

Bomb Shell ~Twinkle~ ⋅ March 23, 2016

What car do you have? I've had a quick look at what's available near me and made a list of ones I like the look of, and they're all so varied! I have an estate and I like the large size, but most of the time it's just me commuting to work so I could get away with a much smaller car. But I'm also thinking of what happens if we have a baby haha, but that might never happen so it's silly to buy a car based on that. I keep swinging either way.

~Twinkle~ Bomb Shell ⋅ March 23, 2016

We got a Vauxhall corsa, 5 door in case we have kids :) It's not huge but it's roomy in the back for passengers which is important to us as we do lots of football road trips with friends. Boot not huge, so that might be interesting if we do have kids lol. It was £8k, a year old with 10,000 miles.

Deleted user March 23, 2016

What tattoo are you getting? X

Bomb Shell Deleted user ⋅ March 23, 2016

This, but with a few adjustments. I've always liked pin-ups but could never decide on a theme. Then I found a pin-up roller derby girl and it was almost like fate, I can't wait :o)
http://orig15.deviantart.net/f09b/f/2012/177/1/b/roller_derby_movie_poster_by_loopydave-d54wn2u.jpg

history of love March 31, 2016

Hope the tattoo session went well - the picture of what you're getting looks amazing! Can't wait to see it on you :)

Also, that sucks about teams playing their a team against b teams. Totally not in the spirit of things, grrr
x

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.