On the road again in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • March 16, 2016, 11:13 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

We will probably leave for Columbia in an hour or hour and a half. Dad’s appointment isn’t until 3 but I need to take him to the DAV to ask some questions about his claim. Hopefully we can get on the road back home by 4:30 and it usually takes me a little less than two hours. Dad bought a club can diesel truck a few weeks ago and has asked e if I wanted to drive it umpteen times. So I finally caved and drove him to eye appointment yesterday. This isn’t a new truck and I can’t remember the year, but I’ve never been impressed with diesel anything. They make WAY more noise which I can’t understand why he would even want one with his hearing aids. Anyway, if he brings it down today, I will drive it to Columbia and get to hear the same complaints I heard yesterday. *Sigh Isaiah went yesterday as planned and I couldn’t have asked for a better behaved 5 yr old. The eye doctor was running behind because of a surgery he performed and he told us it took longer to put the person out to perform the eye surgery. Then he started Dad’s exam and he was SO good with Isaiah. He gave him a pair of the roll up sunglasses and then during all of dad’s exams he had Isaiah come closer so Isaiah could see better and started explaining things in “young” terms. He told me later that they needed replacements for the old eye docs like himself. lol Not sure that Isaiah will ever be an eye doctor, but he was able to see and learn things that lots of kids his age never have the opportunity. Then to make things even better for the youngest grandson, there was a concrete crew pouring concrete for a new parking lot and sidewalk. LOTS of things going on for him to see. After we left the office, dad decided he really didn’t need anything at Walmart, we stopped at McDs and got something to drink. Then we went to home town and cast our votes. I had to help dad cause he really couldn’t see yet after his visit. I did make sure it was ok for me to read the ballot and mark it for him. They said it was fine. Whew.

Then to the local eatery we went. Dude and Dudette ended up coming there too so Isaiah got to ride with his mom to my house and picked me up after I got dad home.

Dudette asked me to help her come up with something to wear for this Friday evening when she is working a midnight madness sale and the theme is the 70s. It just so happened that I have a tie dyed Tshirt and then I made her “bell bottoms” to attach to her jeans. I let her pick out the wild fabric print that she wanted and I hand stitched them on the jeans this morning. Had her run the skinny elastic to gather both bells so it didn’t take long for me to attach to the jean legs. I told her I wanted the fabric back once her evening was done. Also just happened to already have a headband made out of the same wild fabric so with the accessories that she bought at the Dollar Tree she is ready. I tried to get her to wear a long dark wig that I have from my past entertaining at work, but she didn’t want it. lol

The washer and dryer (which are getting a work out this week) are both needing attending so will end this entry for now. Take care and God Bless


cardslinger March 16, 2016

You are so handy!

Spirit Song March 17, 2016

Her outfit sounds adorable! Glad to know I'm not the only one that still has tie dye! I even have some original bellbottom jeans from the '70's!

middle age pearl Spirit Song ⋅ March 17, 2016

I actually bought the tie dye shirt last summer that was in a little retro shop that my step niece owned. They go around the country opening these stores and they seem to do really great. It wouldn't surprise me if there isn't some bell bottoms of mine packed away in my parent's basement. I'm sure I'll find them after dad passes. lol

crystal butterfly March 17, 2016

I never liked diesel. My dad owned on diesel PU truck and so did hubby. Having the diesel jelly in the winter made them pretty short lived.

middle age pearl crystal butterfly ⋅ March 18, 2016

I don't like diesel either. However apparently the "jell" issue has been minimized over the years but I still wouldn't have one.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.