SNOW this weekend? Nooooooo in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • March 15, 2016, 7:36 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Just heard on the radio that we can get some snow this weekend. I realize it is still March, and yes, it has been a mild winter, and yes I knew it could happen, but NO I don’t want it to happen. I just bought several packages of Heirloom seeds yesterday evening. I wasn’t going to plant them outside but still....

This is a busy week. Youngest grandson is staying with me until Thursday along with his Mom and his Dad every other evening. Yesterday I had both grandsons and they played together pretty good. It was so foggy most of the morning it was “damp” outside and the sun didn’t get it burned off until noon. We finally saw the sun around 1ish and the boys played outside for a short time. The moms of the two boys were both done at work by 2 so at 2:30 I left to do some shopping before the meeting last night. I also needed to get gas and go by the bank so I had several things to do before I headed to meeting town. Got everything done and made all the stops I wanted or needed to make. Went to a new to me store that carries everything you can imagine for healthy eating and living. I bought several things there and will go back and may become a regular patron at this place. I bought flax seed to make some heating/cooling pads and oils to add to them. I also bought fresh ground cornmeal and ground flax meal to add to cereals, bread, etc. I am slowly going to try to eat better and the next purchase will be raw honey. I really intended to buy the raw honey yesterday, but was distracted by all the inventory they have and the inventory they were out of so forgot to get the honey. The prices are so reasonable that it was amazing to me and I had to use a lot of self control to not buy multiples of items. I’m a hoarder by nature and I was very proud that I didn’t buy up everything I thought I “might” need or use. Thumbs up for me. Of course this also made cleaning out my cabinets to make room a priority now. Hopefully I can continue the control next time I go shopping for the honey.

O didn’t stay overnight last night and Isaiah is still asleep. He is going with me today to take Dad to his eye appointment and Isaiah will go with me tomorrow when I take dad to his VA appointment. Then on Thursday when his mom gets done at work she will pick him up and they will head to OK. Not sure where in OK, but she will meet her sister with the girls and bring the girls back home. I thought I was going to have them all again on Saturday but I’m not. I look forward to a day to do whatever. The plan I had of the boys and I working out in the yard hasn’t panned out with the rainy drizzly things going on. Today I think it will be sunny and clear, but we’ll be on the road. Same with tomorrow. Oh well. If Isaiah gets up in time we plant some of the seeds in starter containers and maybe that appease my urge to get started on gardening. I bought two types of leaf lettuce, two types of cherry tomatoes, and two types of cucumber seeds but all are heirloom. I’m curious of the different types of all of them and was going to get some hanging baskets for the lettuce but it was super busy at the WS when I got there so will use what I have here and get more later.

My thoughts just stalled so will end this and get dressed. May work on making the heating and cooling pad before Isaiah wakes up.

Take care and God Bless


cardslinger March 15, 2016

I have made what we call ice packs with flannel and flax seed. We leave them in the freezer but can heat them in the microwave as well. Is that what you mean? What oils do you add to them? I might like to try adding some fragrance.

And poo, they are calling for rain and maybe some flurries here today as well. It has been a very mild winter here as well but Im ready for warm breezes and sunshine!

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm March 15, 2016

my daughter makes corn bags. flannel material and feed corn. heat them for 2 minutes in the microwave or put them in the freezer. love them. the more she can give me, the happier i am. possible rain/snow sunday into monday. just not sure yet exactly what we will get. first day of spring snow storm? not out of the realm of possibility. take care,

Deleted user March 15, 2016

Sounds like you are busier than you were when you were working. lol. Maybe the snow will be light and melt quickly. :-)

GypsyWynd March 15, 2016

My uncle's girlfriend made me a rice filled heating pad for Christmas one year. I love it. I used to heat it, then tuck it under the sheets at the foot of the bed to keep my feet warm on cold nights. I was surprised at how long it would stay warm. Although I don't need to warm my sheets anymore, I still have the pad.

invisible ink March 15, 2016

No big deal with the snow.. it will be a flash in the pan. We have the same misery coming our way but such is march...

Spirit Song March 17, 2016

My sister made what she calls "boo boo bags." They are child sized and filled with rice and lavender. I keep one in the freezer but can pop it in the microwave if needed. I'm interested to know how your flax ones turn out.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.