How Grandma Who got her name! in QUOTIDIEN

  • March 12, 2016, 7:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

She would come to visit often. I mean, what Grandma worth her weight isn’t drawn to her grandbabies like a moth to the porch light?

Once she retired, her visits were more frequent and prolonged. I didn’t mind except I had already peed around the perimeter of my house - something she fairly scoffed at. When she came over, she was BOSS.

She was 4‘10” and full of spit and vinegar, except for that hollow leg she sought to fill throughout the day. I swear, that woman could eat twice her weight in food every day, and not gain an ounce. Oh, but I wish she would have left me her metabolism in her will. I digress. …

When Dave’s brother and wife hatched their first daughter, we noticed how grandma didn’t come around quite so much. Grandma visited less and less as she got to know her new granddaughter more and more . It was quieter there. Their one kid to our four. We understood. I would have been glad to go there for the silence, too!!
Well, one day she called, and my smart ass son answered the phone. Knowing full well who he was talking to, he insisted on asking, ‘Grandma Who’?

Well, the name stuck and was soon adopted by the entire family.

And that’s how Grandma Who got her name.


Last updated March 12, 2016


GypsyWynd March 12, 2016

That's funny.

Deleted user March 13, 2016

That is cute !!!

Noodlebugs! March 13, 2016

I wondered about that! Glad you shared the story behind it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.