Busy times in Diary

  • March 12, 2016, 2:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I broke my own running record the other day and ran 2.7km / 1.7 miles without stopping. Sure I felt like I was going to die and kept wanting to stop, but I kept myself going with little targets all the way through. “If I run for over eight minutes, that’s longer than I’ve run before. Now I might as well do 10 minutes, now I’m close to a mile so I’ll just do that.” I didn’t think I could keep going but I did and I’m really pleased :-D

I’m watching Crufts dog show at the moment. It takes place next door to where I work so I’m glad I was on the early shift this week as there would have been thousands of extra cars during rush hour. I love the things like flyball, agility, duck herding, heelwork to music. It’s great to see the dogs having a good time :o) What Crufts is famous for, though, is the Best in Show competion, which I don’t agree with. There’s a lot in inbreeding to produce pedigree dogs and they have a lot of health problems :o(

I’ve decided to go for the roller derby pinup girl as a tattoo and today I booked it in and paid a deposit, eeeee, excited! It’s on 24th March if I can book the day off work. It’s going to be a full day session from 10am-5pm. The lady asked me “Do you think you can sit for a full day?” I said I didn’t know as the only other tattoo I have only took 15 minutes! But if I’ve booked her for a full day, I’ll have to pay for her time regardless so I’m determined to do it. I’ll take a book and a drink, and they said they usually have a film on as well so hopefully if I have enough things to distract me, I should be ok!

My car started making a really loud noise the other day, coming from the exhaust. I took it into the garage and he said it was completely split in half and just about to fall off..I’d just come off the motorway so I’m glad it didn’t fall off there! He tied it up for me and I had to go back next day to have it replaced for £195. The car also needs a service so that’s another £100. Cars aren’t cheap!

I’ve got so many things coming up in the next three months.

Car service 19th March
Roller derby sevens tournament 20th March
Tattoo 24th March
Visit mam and dad 24th - 28th March
Muse gig 2nd April
Roller derby team pub quiz 23rd April
Roller derby tournament 24th April
Holiday in Murcia, Spain 24th May until 31st May
Download festival 10th - 12th June
Roller derby team birthday party 18th June
Offspring gig 19th June
Jay in Tenerife 26th June - 3rd July


Hypnotica March 12, 2016

Wow that's a long time! How big is it going to be? I found after about 3 hours it becomes really hard going, but there's probably peaks and troughs if you keep going. My longest was 3.5 hours though so I wouldn't know beyond that!

Bomb Shell Hypnotica ⋅ March 12, 2016

Don't say that, eeeee! My sister is already making me nervous by saying I'm very brave, and she's got four tattoos! Now I'm starting to think I should just split it into sessions...but I don't want to go away with a half finished tattoo and have to go back...I think it's going to be about 10" tall on my thigh. She said it would have to be that big to get enough of the detail in.

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ March 13, 2016

Sorry, didn't mean to make you nervous. When I was getting mine done on Friday, the tattooist wasn't making smalltalk, he was just silent, plus he was listening to CFM or something, so the music was rubbish too. I'm not used to that! I found I could "zone out" and after about ten minutes, it just felt like he was touching me. Just make sure you have plenty to drink before, don't go with a hangover, and have a decent breakfast. Some tattoo places carry lollies or sweets for if you're feeling woozy.

Hypnotica Bomb Shell ⋅ March 13, 2016

If you haven't had a big tattoo before I would consider splitting the sessions personally. Your body can get to a point where it just can't take anymore and it's almost like you go into shock, clammy and shaky. I've got 10 now, but most of my were under 2 hours. The 3.5 hour one was also on my thigh and is about 6.5inches high. It stung like a bitch after a couple of hours, I really struggled at the end but had to finish because I was moving to north wales and wouldn't be able to get back to see my tattooist for ages. 10" is massive! But everybody is different and reacts differently, you might be absolutely fine and be able to take your mind to a happy place and plough through.

Bomb Shell Hypnotica ⋅ March 13, 2016

Ooohh I've booked the full day now and paid a deposit, and I'd rather get it out of the way all at once. We will be having a lunch break, so it'll probably end up being two lots of three hours with the break in between. And I'm going to take a bottle of water and a bottle of pop in case I need sugar. But thanks for the heads up anyway, hopefully I'll be ok :o)

Hypnotica Bomb Shell ⋅ March 13, 2016

Yeah that's true, Breaks will make it more manageable :) and it'll all be worth it

Vee March 13, 2016

Busy busy times!
I know what you mean about Crufts, some of the standards seem silly and the dogs don't sound healthy at all :-(

puffin March 13, 2016

Ooh crufts makes me cross!!!

Cant wait to see the tattoo!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.