Grandma Who -nice to see you again! in QUOTIDIEN

  • March 12, 2016, 10:15 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

One year, Grandma Who came to visit, and with her she brought a pot of dirt with two dry little twigs sticking out. ‘I brought this for you - and you can plant it right here’, she said as she pointed out her choice spot at the front of our house.

‘But what is it?’

Proudly, she proclaimed it to be a burning bush. All I could think, at the time, was that there wasn’t even enough for kindling. But plant the twigs, I did.

I drive past that old house now, so many years later, and I slow to admire the green and hot red leaves - and think of the faith she had in the very least of things.

Today, my daughter says, ‘Grandma Who could turn a Fruit Loop into a fruit tree.’

Brought me this memory. In this way, she is still with us.


Last updated March 12, 2016


Deleted user March 12, 2016

Lovely !

Pintador March 12, 2016

Loved this.

GypsyWynd March 12, 2016

You had "Grandma who came to visit". I had "This Grandma" (my father's mother who lived with us), and "Grandma Far Away" .

middle age pearl March 13, 2016

Love the statement: ‘Grandma Who could turn a Fruit Loop into a fruit tree.’

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.