No pain no gain in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • March 12, 2016, 4:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was feeling that little tidbit last night and this morning. I did some yard work to include burning and pulling new growth in front of the porch coming up thru the gravel strip. Oh my goodness my legs were sooo mad at me when I quit. I was thinking uh oh, I’ll never be able to get out of bed in the morning. But I did and the soreness is now very slight if not gone. It started raining or rather sprinkling as the one last small pile of debris was just about done. Not completely but will be able to add it to another pile next time I burn. I felt so accomplished when I quit. I’m not even close to being done, but I’ve started and that makes me feel so much better. I was unsure if I’d be as motivated with cleaning up the yard before major growth started and was pleased that yes, the debris of leaves, twigs, etc still must be gotten rid of before major growth occurs. However, we’re getting rain today too and the temps will stay above freezing, so I believe it is possible that I will get behind on getting things cleaned up out there. I’ve got some larger limbs that need to be burned which will take close supervision, which I do no matter how much or how big or little. I keep the burn piles I burn at a “manageable level” if at all possible. There is a large pile of tree limbs above my house and at the top of the hill where the electric company cut the dead limbs off of a tree close the trailer but I will wait until Dude is here to burn it. I don’t want to try and burn it all at one time, but in smaller piles if possible. However, I do know my oldest son, and I may have to be “forceful in tone” to get him to do as I think best to control a fire. On second thought, maybe I will do it by myself and make sure water hoses are hooked up beside and below the burn area. If it goes down the hill, it could get to my house and if it goes uphill it would get to the carport and the house trailer. Not good either way, but the pile has to go as it will attract snakes. Do NOT want a snake house close to either home.

Finished A’s other stylist apron and discovered I had some black fingernail polish so gave the sliders a couple of coats of black polish. I don’t believe it will rub off onto her skin, at least I hope not. My order for darker sliders are on their way, but could I wait until they got her until I finished the apron? Nooooo. ;(

I bought some feed sack dish towels on a clearance rack at Walmart last week and embroidered a couple of designs on one of them this morning. The designs are the same except one I used black embroidery thread to do and the other yellow. The black one shows up much better than the yellow so I am learning as I play. Wonder if I’ll ever learn enough? Doubt it.

It was raining this morning but has stopped for the moment. In the 50s and very cloudy so it could rain again any time. Too wet to work outside today. Dang. When I get started I really like to keep going. I hope that the days I don’t have to go anywhere next week that Isaiah and I will get more done outside. O will be here on Monday and Thursday too so if the weather cooperates, I expect the two grands and I to get a lot of outside stuff done. I have some ideas whizzing around in my head and anxious to see what actually develops and hopefully produced from those ideas.

I can see a couple of squirrels running around and on the tree limbs out my front door. They are so funny but they best stay out of the planting endeavors. Also was watching a rabbit across the road yesterday evening and he/she and the family to come best stay out of it too. I think the containers will help keep the rabbits out of stuff, but not the squirrels.

Dudette and the kids and her mom went to TX this weekend to visit her sister and then the girls are staying the week in TX with their aunt. Isaiah will stay with me beginning tomorrow night. Dude didn’t go since he works on Saturdays and he is going to stay here tonight. It promises to be a not as quiet week as I’m used to but I’m feeling good about it, which before I retired, I would have dreaded my disruption of routine. I still walk around with a goofy smile when I think “I’m really retired” and I don’t have to deal with the stress of working. Another thing that came across my mind last night was the weird thing that would happen with one or both of my eyes. I would have a prism affect or effect suddenly happen followed by a terrific headache. Sometime the prism sight would last a couple of minutes and sometimes longer. Haven’t been dealing with that since December. Had my eyes checked on Friday and everything looked fine except for needing new glasses so have to figure the prism thing was stressed related. If I think of it, I will ask the eye Dr when I pick up my new glasses.

I’m cold. I can’t believe I’m cold but I am so I need to get back to moving. I need to hang my clean clothes on hangers and put them in the closet and then switch J’s laundry from washer to dryer an dryer to sofa so he can fold and put his clean clothes away too. I also need to sweep the kitchen a I’ve done the dishes up already so not a lot on the agenda for today except getting J’s laundry done.

I’m going to make a pot of chili for supper on the rainy day, and figure it will be the last pot of chili until Fall. I’ll only use one can of chili beans and a lot of beef so it should be delicious. I have the onions chopped and need to chop some celery to use in it too. Should have enough for Dad to join us for supper too.

I stopped taking my allergy medicine the beginning of the week and I swear my sneezing and snotty nose has reduced. Could the allergy medicines be part of the perpetual runny nose I’ve been dealing with for months? I’m beginning to think so. Come to think of it, I haven’t had a major sneezing fit this week either. I don’t plan to take anymore of it unless my nose and sneezing start their crud again. Wouldn’t it be something if they don’t? And the leaves are budding on the trees and bushes and I know rain knocks the pollen down, but still.

Ok, I really am going to finish this now. Take care and God Bless


Last updated March 12, 2016


crystal butterfly March 13, 2016

We never stop learning. It is just that some stuff is more fun to learn about. And I have been busier since I retired than I was before, but it is stuff I prefer to do.

cardslinger March 14, 2016

Sounds like you got lots accomplished outside. I need to do a lot of work this year as everything went crazy with my back out all last summer. You should add pics of your projects. :)

Ragdolls March 14, 2016

My daughter gets that prism effect in her vision right before she gets a migraine. A friend gets what his eye doctor calls ocular migraines which distorts his vision. I need to get out in my yard & get busy.

seafarer March 16, 2016

I miss you, your home and farm so much!!! Can't wait to see you again!!! Dang, I gotta get well!!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.