Friday AM in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • March 11, 2016, 7:34 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Can’t come up with a title right now suppose I will have to before this will post. Yesterday was another good day. Had my eye exam and ordered new glasses which should be in within a week. They will call me when they get them back. I picked out new frames which are much like the current ones. I’m not fond of the thick ear pieces that seem to be popular these days but they still have some thinner styles to choose from but just not as big of a selection. Actually less to choose from is better for me. The eye doc confirmed my vision has gotten worse since last time. I pretty much knew that and that is what prompted the exam. He also said I was at the beginning of forming cataracts but will just try and get an exam every year now to keep track. I am hoping I won’t have to have anything done until I qualify for Medicare and then I hope Medicare will help offset the cost. My health insurance doesn’t. Blah!

After the appointment was completed I FINALLY went to the sporting goods department and bought my FISHING license. WooHoo. I’m ready for whenever the time is right and mood strikes. I think this is one of the most exciting things I’ve looked forward to in retirement as far as strictly “pleasure” and “relaxing”. The time has finally arrived in that if the weather is right and the mood hits, I can totally be spontaneous and do it. I have areas that should produce big fat worms to use as bait and I would have no issues to concoct some bait out of cereal or peanut butter. Watch me NaNa? LOL

Not sure that I’ll go often, but the point is, I can now and will not have to worry about getting legal. I am!

After that stop I then went to the Workshop. Had a meeting with some of the staff and then headed back towards home with a stop for lunch at Ocean’s Buffet which has oriental foodbar and other choices. Yum. Didn’t need or even want to eat supper so that worked out good. I did fix J supper, in case you were wondering.

Dad came down yesterday afternoon and he is surprised that I don’t miss work at all. He even shook his head in disbelief that by this time I didn’t miss anything. Makes me pretty sure that HE still misses work even though his health would never allow it and probably not his age either at 87. I told him I keep in contact with my one and only close friend from work. I have to admit that I am extremely happy in retirement and feel bad and sad for anyone who isn’t. They apparently don’t have things they couldn’t or didn’t get done while working. I know there are people who are unhappy in retirement, however, I have a really hard time understanding why, unless they had nothing except their job to make them feel useful or worth something. Very sad.

I will pick up the heirloom seeds from the Workshop on Monday when I go to the meeting. They had just gotten a big order of seeds in this week and were going through it so told them what I wanted and would pick them up Monday. I can hardly wait to get some seeds started and have containers and soil so I’m ready. Next week is mid month so I am going to start a few seeds and am going to plant lettuce seeds in some hanging baskets, that way I can bring them in if the temps dip below freezing. The other seeds will also be portable so that I can take them in and out of the garage.

I am almost done making another stylist apron for A. LOL This time I will use some clear fingernail polish in hopes to seal the permanent marker that wasn’t on the first one. Or maybe I can use snaps until my order for the sliders arrive. Not sure but it is all good.

On the news: Wounded Warrior Project-Lavish spending issues. I am NOT surprised and will not nor encourage anyone to give to any of those types of scams. Yes, I believe most of these “pretend do-gooders” for our Vets are pocketing most of the money and according to the news, someone got caught throwing lavish parties and who knows what else.

Take care and God Bless


Deleted user March 11, 2016

Greed rears its ugly head everywhere. No one who is not retired can understand the pure joy of it. :-)

ODSago March 11, 2016

My CPA husband taught me to find out the stats on where the money goes. I'd rather give more to local groups I can vet than to national groups, personally.

Re: retirement. I think for some people work is about all they personally invested in, even with family and such...so retirement means losing a lot more to that person than to it does to you. Let's face it, you have had two jobs--the farm and family plus work. Now you can focus on what you really enjoy.

middle age pearl ODSago ⋅ March 12, 2016

I agree with your CPA husband. There are ways you can check out where the and how the donations are distributed and if you can't find the info that is a BIG red flag. People just cannot believe that when it comes to certain "causes" that they would use the cause for their own personal gain. Ha! They will and do. All the time.

Great explanation on the retirement aspect.

seafarer March 16, 2016

I agree with you about retirement..... it is the best thing I ever did for myself... and as I always say "I may be boring, but I am NEVER bored!"
well, I now know one thing we don't have in common, friend, fishing.... nope, can't do it!! lol

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.