ketchup. in advent 2013

  • Dec. 24, 2013, 4:05 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

When I say "ketchup" I really mean Catch up...

It's been a busy, busy few days! On Friday I finished work at noon and the girls finished school at 1:30. Rich had the day of and so we drove down to Brighton earlier than planned! We had an amazing weekend, Saturday was waaaaay too windy to go to the beach though, so after wandering the Laines and North Laines rich headed to the station to get a train to the football ground while the girls and I went to the bus station to catch a bus back to the hotel.

We never stay in Brighton, it's too bloody expensive! We stay about 10 miles to the east in Newhaven. There's a fantastic bus route that travels all the way along the coast with buses every ten minutes.

We sat at the top of a double decker so we could see the sea and really felt the strength of the wind battering the bus. I even planned exactly what to do should we get blown over - although, to be fair, that's quite common for me!

While rich watched 22 men chase after a leather sphere the girls and I stripped down to our underwear (our clothes were soaking) and watched Home Alone 4. Fyi - don't, it's crap!! -While eating my graze box!

We ended up eating in Sainsburys cafe that night as everywhere was fully booked with Christmas parties and the staff art Sainsburys? They really didn't want us there! It was possibly some of the worst customer service I have ever received!

Sunday was much better, we made it on to the beach, although I wouldn't allow the girls to play chasing the waves as they were still huge! We threw stones into the sea and rich chased tally and Lila around with strands of seaweed. It was amazing, refreshing and exhilarating.

And you can't go to the seaside without a trip onto the pier to throw 2p coins away... Tally actually won a torch out of those 2p machines!

We had to hold on tight to each other to get along the pier as the wind was so strong, and the khaki water was churning and roiling beneath us, dizzying to see through the cracks in the decking.

Then we walked all the way back to the furthest part of North Laines to a cafe called Soup-erb. One of our favourites in Brighton.

After that we caught the bus back to the hotel and drove back home :)

And on Monday morning I ran! The first time since last March! This morning I aaaache!!

Well, I'd better feed my offspring!


~Twinkle~ December 24, 2013

Sounds like a lovely weekend :) Yay for your run yesterday :) How was it? Xx

Deleted user December 24, 2013

Yaaay for running!!! So happey for ya!

It really sounds like a nice trip - sorry about the bad costumer service though. Boo!

Happy Christmas :-)

Deleted user December 24, 2013

Sounds perfect!!!! Merry Christmas to you and your family! •hugs•

ElvenAssassin December 24, 2013

Yaaaaay for running!

I've always wanted to ride in a double decker bus; it's a british icon to me from the television. They just aren't common place here. I saw one exactly once when I was perhaps 14, and it was a tour bus that was parked with no one there!

Merry Christmas if I don't get to say so later! :)

Life Is For Living December 24, 2013

Merry Christmas! xxx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.