Midweek in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • March 9, 2016, 5:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Middle of another week. Time certainly doesn’t slow down just because you don’t work at a job. Didn’t expect to however, the time is flying by. Daylight Saving Time begins this weekend and the first day of Spring is quickly approaching and I’m looking so forward to seed and plant planting. I intend to get Heirloom seeds next Monday when I go to the Workshop meeting. They sell and plant Heirloom seeds and they have them to sell. I know I’m going to get tomato seeds and will see what they have available and go from the choices available.

I used some mole poison a couple of weeks ago and it said to punch a hole in a tunnel run, pour a teaspoon of the poison down the hole and place a rock on top of it. They said do not step on the mole runs or where you put the poison. I’ve waited a long two weeks for it to work and it possibly has worked. This week I started squishing the mole runs and hills back down trying to get the yard evened out. Not sure all my foot stomping and pressing will “even” the yard out, but right now I’m taken in the areas that do not have those ugly above ground tunnel heaps. I am hoping that the poison worked and it was my last resort. I tried the enviormentally safe and “kind” ways to get rid of them and I’ve had it with them plowing my yard to bits. I’d dynamite their runs and wouldn’t care of it tore their little bodies to shreds if I can get rid of them. Can’t do that tho cause it would also throw rocks and break all my windows out and I don’t want to do that yet.

Made A a stylist apron. She brought one home that she has been using that she really likes and I made a pattern to use to make her one. It has a middle front panel that she wanted to have some color. We found it at Wally World when we went to another one last Thursday. I thought I had the adjustable clasps like were on this one, but no I didn’t. I ended up taking an old bra and using the adjustable sliders to make the neck strap adjustable. A bit of amusement, but maybe not for her. The clasps off the bra was white. The two side panels are black. I wanted black. So, I used a permanent marker to color the white clasps black. I let it dry and tested it out using a paper towel and a cloth towel. It didn’t come off. I finished it yesterday and she called me this morning to tell me I could come up for her to cut my hair at 10. I took the new apron with me and gave it to her. She was very pleased with the results and put it on immediately. A bit later, (there is another story here) I got home and got on FB. She had messaged me a picture of her neck area. Apparently permanent marker does come off on skin and THEN stays permanent. Opps.

The other story is that I ended up going up to the school to pick up youngest grandson and then took him to the local drs office. He has influenza. Oh yay. Got his meds, a lunchable at the grocery store, and then home. He ate some of his lunchable, I gave him both meds, and he promptly got in the recliner and went to sleep until his mom picked him up. Pray for the little fella. Actually if you pray, prayers for all of us would be appreciated, not to mention they had 7 other kids spend the weekend with them last weekend and he probably had it then too. I certainly don’t want it and do not want J getting it. I used spray after he left, to include inside the Tahoe. I wonder about school for him tomorrow but we’ll see what happens. One of the meds was Tamiflu and oh my goodness it is expensive. $80 just for it AFTER the insurance paid. I told the parents to not worry about it and when they had the money they could pay me. If they don’t, I’ll survive and I hope it works like the pharmacists said it would. Sounded very positive from both pharmacists.

Not much else was done today. Tomorrow I finally get my eye exam. That’ll cost me since I wear the transitional lenses. Oh well I need to see while and when I can.

Going to end this for now. Take care and God Bless


ODSago March 09, 2016

Your plate is full. But it is your plate, not someone else's plate and that makes all the difference for me. I am no where near as busy, and am trying to accept this part of my life, totally unexpected, this being alone so much. Thankful for television that is enjoyable, educational, and unexpectedly just fun. Not thankful for the rest of TV. No person's voice but mine heard today for 24 hours. My daughter called last night about seven. Yep. TV is appreciated.

Deleted user March 09, 2016

I see Tamiflu advertised on TV. Sounds like it should do the trick. My dtr and family are sick also. Will lift your family up in prayer. Praying the moles have picked up and moved out or expired. :-)

crystal butterfly March 09, 2016

teaspoon of poison doesn't sound like very much. The mole would have to get right to the right spot. But hope it did the trick.

Ragdolls March 11, 2016

I battle moles too. Horrible little beasts. Got 2 metal scissor traps that I've used. Killed 19 in 2014 and 7 last year. Still have moles & I think that they have gotten smarter about the traps. They have destroyed my yard.

middle age pearl Ragdolls ⋅ March 12, 2016

I finally put out poison that comes in a cone looking container and pretty sure I got it at Walmart. I think I said you use a teaspoon but think it was a tablespoon down the hole into the run. I used the whole thing and even though I haven't squished the mole run hills all down yet, I am not seeing any new ones yet. Since it has been raining I'll know for sure if it worked as they will begin plowing again if it didn't. I do think it has helped though as I have 1/2 the yard sorta flat and no new hills have developed. I have two traps too and wasn't successful. I'm sure it was me or the moles. I either didn't set them right or they're smart enough to avoid that run.

Ragdolls middle age pearl ⋅ March 12, 2016

I think I will try the poison along with traps this year. I have so many runs with mounds in my yard that I may need to buy a case of that poison. LOL

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.