Forty. in 2016

  • March 7, 2016, 2:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, I did it. I made it around the sun forty times and lived to tell about it.

My birthday was awesome. Aaron let me sleep in while he tended to the rascals and when I finally came down he had my breakfast and coffee waiting for me. Joaquin gave me a card he “made” me and it was adorable. After breakfast, Aaron took the kids to the gym / daycare while I settled in to sip my coffee and read Facebook messages and texts from friends and family. I took some time to savor the silence and reflect on the day and all that I have accomplished in my forty years on earth.

I then retreated to the garage/office where my NEW TREADMILL awaited me and I took it for an inaugural spin. It was so cool to be able to walk into the backyard and go for a run! Without the long commute to the gym and such. Or without running outside and braving the elements and hills. It was just.. nice.

Untitled

I took a shower and got ready and then we rounded up the rascals and went to our favorite lunch spot where I enjoyed a glass of wine and a delicious sandwich. The first ‘surprise’ of the day was VIP tickets to the Broad museum, so we headed there to enjoy some lovely artwork with the kids. It was more fun than I expected it to be with two little ones to entertain, and it was a lovely afternoon.

Untitled
Untitled
Untitled

We headed back home and fed the kids before bringing them to their next destination - evening daycare. We then headed to what I thought was just going to be a dinner for two, but we arrived and two of my best friends and my sister & brother-in-law were waiting for a nice little surprise dinner soiree. Dinner was lovely, lots of wine and yummy food. We picked up the kids close to 11p and headed home to crash.
Untitled
Untitled

Overall, a really wonderfully paced, lovely day with my family and good buddies.


MaggieTheCat March 07, 2016

Happy Belated Birthday! Glad you had an awesome day!! :)

rubix cube MaggieTheCat ⋅ March 08, 2016

Thank you!

Deleted user March 07, 2016

Happy Birthday!!!

rubix cube Deleted user ⋅ March 08, 2016

Thank you!

TrippyNina March 07, 2016

Happy Birthday!!!

rubix cube TrippyNina ⋅ March 08, 2016

Thank you!

Miso Honey March 21, 2016

Happy belated birthday! You make 40 look pretty damn good.

rubix cube Miso Honey ⋅ March 21, 2016

aw, thanks!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.