VIDEO of me playing Roller Derby - you love it in Diary

  • March 6, 2016, 9 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My exercise last month was pretty shocking. If you take out the dog walking, there were huge swathes of empty time when I didn’t do any exercise. This is my spreadsheet for last month.

I need to pull my finger out this month. Yesterday I ran for a full kilometre (1.15km to be precise) without stopping; this is the first time in my life I’ve ever done this so I’m quite proud.

However, I’m starting to get a few aches and pains that I never had before.

1) The big toe on my right foot started to stiffen up a few months ago. It won’t bend back as far as it used to; it hurts when I wear heels and it bends back, and it always feels like I need to click the joint. Dangerous self diagnosis = arthritis.

2) My left knee has been crunching for a while, but lately I’ve been experiencing pain when going downstairs and when running. But NOT when going upstairs, walking or skating. Dangerous self diagnosis = Chondromalacia Patella.

3) Pain / weakness in my right wrist when putting pressure on it, for example during press ups. Actual diagnosis = Weakened wrist from breaking it last year. I’m pretty sure I broke it once before a few years ago but I stupidly never went to the hospital because I was too busy.

4) Muscle pain in my left lumbar region, which has been going on for a week or more. Not sure what’s causing this, maybe bad posture at work or I twisted it during exercise.

Either I’m getting old, or my body isn’t impressed with all the extra exercise I’m doing, but I’ve always been fit and healthy so I’m not enjoying all these new problems I’m having.



Last weekend I went to a roller derby workshop which lasted for three hours; I’ve never skated for that long before. There was a one hour scrim at the end, mixed men and women. I’ve never skated with men before, it was TOUGH but I really enjoyed it.

Someone took a video so I got to see myself skating for the first time. I look as unsteady and ungainly as I always imagined I did haha.

If you don’t fancy watching the whole thing, I know you really just want to watch me so I’m wearing a white vest and a purple helmet - you can’t see who’s who at first, so look out for the one who keeps falling over; that’s me…

My first jam is 1:39 - 3:39.

My second jam is 5:05 - 6:15. I was actually the jammer; the person trying to get past everyone else to score points. So I have a yellow cover on my helmet with a black star on it. I’m rubbish at jamming and I got zero points; I even passed the star to my teammate after half a lap! (Something that you can do once each jam and only to one specific person)

My third jam is 10:40 - end. I’m back in the purple helmet, blocking the jammer.

And if you don’t want to watch it at all and just want to see something funny, at about 11:05 I get knocked over and, just as I’m getting up, some bloke lands right on top of me and sends me flying. My life.

After that massive explanation, here it is

If you loved that one enough to want to watch more, you’re in luck. There’s more!
I’m in this one 2:48 - 4:48 and 8:37 - 9:47 (I’m wearing a yellow helmet cover with a black stripe in my second jam)

Oh I suck so bad but I love it so much.


Last updated March 07, 2016


Babe In Toyland March 06, 2016

I get that pain in my right big toe too. It started with numbness, which actually started when I was pregnant with....somebody, so I just attributed it to that. But now I get pain in it occasionally.

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ March 08, 2016

Oh no, I'm copying you!

Canadian Lass March 07, 2016

yep i got toe pain too... i find the Arthritis Achy Foot cream from avon works well if they carry that in the foot works there, but i also have bunions, so i have to watch that /use toe stretcher thingies to

Bomb Shell Canadian Lass ⋅ March 08, 2016

Oooh that sounds good, I didn't realise I could do anything about it, I thought I just had to live with it. I might look into it thanks :o)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.