Never Assume in QUOTIDIEN

  • March 6, 2016, 3:14 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m at the Radisson Hotel in St. Joseph, MO. I was invited by a friend who is here with her son - and our kids get along, so why not?! I mean…the Radisson.

I’ve been to my fair share of inns, and hotels in my short 53 years of state hopping - and I can honestly say that besides the Route 66 hotel with the Elvis room (OMFG), this Radisson sucks like a starving hooker.

My first draw was the idea of soaking in the hot-tub. When I arrived, two 5 year olds were steeping while a dozen other kids were celebrating little Euphora’s third birthday. I know this because the princess in question pirouetted away from her mother more than a dozen times to troll around the hot tub.

As time went on,she won, all the kids piled in, and a great time was had by all…for more than an hour. I began to question at what point the ratio of water to urine would take a turn for the worst as not a single one of them ever left the to take a potty break. :knowing look: AND THEN....one young mother decided to repeatedly dip her diapered 10 month old into the burbling bacterial soup before sitting him on the top step. When I asked management about regulations regarding such little ones in the hot tub, explaining the health risks for ALL involved, the youngster made an ‘EW’ face, but confessed that they just never thought of it.

My refuge? The sauna. Again with the kids! What are these parents thinking?! When one kid started giggling that she was feeling woozy, I had to say something to the parent. ‘Oh’, she says, ‘really? I should probably check on her!’

PROBABLY??

Accustomed to normal hotels where you can at least grab a quick continental breakfast as you run out the door, I ran myself and the Kids through the
Breakfast line. Imagine my surprise when I was given a $30 bill for the taste-free eggs, and flavorless bacon.

One last thing: The Bar! What self-respecting bartender asks, whike eying her customer like she’d sprouted antennae, ‘Tanque-what???’

Radisson Hotel , St. Joseph, MO…don’t do it.

I hope we don’t bring home bedbugs!!


•kitkat• March 06, 2016

Yikes! I've never stayed at a Radisson hotel (save for my senior year homecoming dance being in one) and never set foot in one but I think I'll pass. Didn't they used to actually be a reputable chain? I live in NC and I don't think there's ANY Radissons left in this area at all.

MJ's Page •kitkat• ⋅ March 06, 2016

They still are. I think it's this place that isn't up to par.

cricket_factor March 06, 2016

How old is the management in that place? Twenty-one? And sounds like the people checking in aren't much older...sounds like an awful time...

Pintador March 06, 2016

Yes, I saw your post on FB and it brought back memories of seeing diapered infants in swimming pools when my kids were young. At least the pool we frequented did NOT allow kids under 7 in the hot tub and if a staff member spotted a diapered infant in the pool, his clueless mother was asked to remove him. Kids in a sauna is just insane. Sorry your retreat turned out to be such a dud! You could have used a nice get-away right about now.

Deleted user March 06, 2016

OMG ! What a nightmare. I would complain bitterly to the manager and then write The Radission CEO as well.

Duke March 06, 2016

This is the second scathing review of a Radisson I have seen in 12 hours. The first was someone talking too loud on the phone and being kicked out by security.

Noodlebugs! March 06, 2016

I hope you yelped and trip advisored that

middle age pearl March 10, 2016

Ewww, Yuck and bet your own bathtub/shower never looked so good.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.