The death of a laptop in The View from the Terrace

  • March 5, 2016, 5:23 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I haven’t been here so much lately. I usually take a cup of tea and some breakfast back to bed while the house warms up and that’s when I visit. Sadly my laptop died at the beginning of the week so I now only have the downstairs computer which I share with Hubby.

I am pretty upset as quite a few things on my laptop weren’t backed up; some short stories and, worst of all, the last few chapters of my autobiography. It’s my own fault. The laptop has been ailing for some time but I hadn’t got around to sorting it. I’m desperately trying to get it to stay on long enough for me to recover the files. It boots but tends to crash after a short while and always the moment I plug in the memory stick it crashes. I may try to see if it will let me connect to the internet long enough to copy and paste things into my email.

My son says there are ways to recover the files if the hard drive is OK and I think it must be as I can still briefly see my files. He wants me to keep trying but if I have no luck he will help me. I need Cat. She is brilliant with computers. I remember once when her partner had just completed his thesis for his Phd he dropped his laptop and broke it and she managed to get the thesis back for him in time for the deadline.

We had a great weekend celebrating our 40th anniversary but unfortunately half of the photos are on the laptop. I think a new memory card I had bought might have been faulty as it kept showing an error. I’ve no idea if that’s connected to what happened to the laptop but it died about an hour later. I think I will write more about the weekend later. Hubby did have some photos on his camera, thank goodness.


SillySillySandee March 05, 2016

Your son is correct, as long as the hard drive is not damaged then there is hope and from what you are saying, it doesn't sound like the hard drive is damaged.
Happy Anniversary!

Deleted user March 05, 2016

Happy belated Anniversary ! Surely there are computer places there and they can get your info off for you ,

Sabrina-Belle Deleted user ⋅ March 08, 2016

Well yes there are computer places and if one of my children can't sort it out I will take it somewhere, but they are quite expensive.

Deleted user Sabrina-Belle ⋅ March 08, 2016

Darn ! Hope your CAT can figure it out for you !

^..^Kat March 07, 2016

If you can get it to boot into safe mode, it will probably function long enough for you to retrieve your files. Or if your laptop and the desktop are networked together, you can possibly get to it from the desktop.

Sabrina-Belle ^..^Kat ⋅ March 08, 2016

Thank you, my elder son was telling me the same thing on Sunday. Everyone has been so helpful.

Deleted user March 07, 2016

Congratulations on your 40th. In today's day and age, that's a miracle. I'm so happy for you.

I've had this happen to me as well. I ended up buying a new computer, but I kept the my broken computer and removed the hard drive, which is quite easy. Then I bought a piece of hardware at Best Buy that allowed me to connect the old hard drive to my computer via a USB port, which was also very easy. I ran a security scan on the old hard drive before accessing any of the files. The security software found some malware on the old hard drive and was able to quarantine the suspicious files. Once the scan was done, I was able to copy all my files to my new computer.

Sabrina-Belle Deleted user ⋅ March 08, 2016

Thank you.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.