Friday-TGIF in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • March 4, 2016, 10:22 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have to giggle a bit when I write or read TGIF, although it still brings the same feeling even now. Not sure why, other than the years and years of feeling that way on Fridays. Actually Thursdays are my Fridays now. Even though I’m retired and still wake and get up at the early crazy hour, Thursday is J’s last work day for the week. Knowing I can go to bed as early as I want to on Thursday night and not have to get him up, and fix him something for breakfast is very good. Not sure why, but I think it is the knowing I don’t have to stay up on Thursday evenings to try and get him to go to bed. It is sometimes a waste of my time, but I try.

So yesterday I got a few things done around here to include posting some stuff on Ebay and then went to meet A to go pick up her taxes. They electronically sent them as soon as she paid for the prep and then we went to Sonic to eat lunch. From there we went to the fabric store which was a waste because they only carried quilting supplies and nothing else. So, I said we needed to check out the Walmart in that town as I was pretty sure that is where we found it a couple of years ago. I figured it was a one time thing, but might as well look plus I needed some light yellow flannel and more yellow cotton. After looking and touching and reading, we found it. They only have two small bolts but that was fine and so I bought black and blue and then she wanted an accent bright fabric too to in it. She picked those out and when she brings the apron she like from work, I will create a pattern and get to work on it. I am just a bit concerned about the accent fabric, which is satin, as I’m almost sure it will be constantly attracting static. Static attracts hair. However, I told her that if it did have a static electricity problem to keep a wire hanger around and pull it through the wire hanger and it will discharge the static for a while. Not sure how long, but she can also use static guard. Who knows, I may be wrong and hope so cause if I’m not, I’ll be making another couple soon.

She also wanted to stop at the Dollar Tree there so we did. I had to pee so bad when we were in there that I was miserable until I located the bathroom. Oh what relief!! I really didn’t find much there and only bought a loaf of bread and some gallon storage bags. She ended up calling my DIL or her SIL to see if she was off work yet and could she pick up Owen from school. She was and she did. During this time I noticed the Check Tire sensor came on. Made me a nervous wreck. She got out and checked all the tires to see if any were low and she said they didn’t look low, but while we were at Walmart and I was getting the fabric cut (I bought some yellow cotton too but no light yellow flannel there either) she took the Tahoe to the service department so they could check my tires. It is the STUPID sensor!! I’m thankful that I didn’t have a low tire or getting a flat, but I will HAVE to get the sensor changed as even though I can get rid of the message on the dash, that stupid little horseshoe looking light remain on. Can’t deal with that every time I go somewhere so I’ll have to suck it up and pay the cost for a new sensor and the labor to get it fixed. Grrrrrr!! Course maybe when I find out the total for it to be done will cause me to be more tolerant. The service person told A that the sensors can run anywhere between $30-$100. Yuck!

So we came back to where she left her car and I went to Walmart here. I had to get some things that I didn’t want to carry around at the other town so got them there. When I got home Dude and family were here. Actually the kids were up at A’s house and Dude and Dudette were here as Dudette needed to use my copier and scanner. The grands all took their showers here before they left and each of them picked out a bunny rabbit. THAT was an ordeal. They had such a hard time picking just “one” out but I know how they take care of things so one apiece I stuck to. Isaiah picked his out quickly and took the denim bunny. The girls changed their minds so many times, I really can’t tell you which girl picked what, but know the big Polyester bunny was picked. I can almost bet that before Saturday night the bunnies will be tail-less. lol

Guess I’ll end this entry and start J’s laundry and start sorting tax needed receipts. Blah. Ok, we’ll see on the later but at least the thought is now coming to mind.

Take care and God Bless


aunty EM March 04, 2016

Hair spray gets rid of static cling... I doubt she'll have a problem. LOL

crystal butterfly March 04, 2016

David got a new to him Nissan Frontier and the tire sensor stays on. He priced the sensor and decided he would carry a tire gage with him.

cardslinger March 05, 2016

Sounds like a very productive day.

seafarer March 07, 2016

the sensor light has been on in my Explorer for probably 10 years....dealer will turn it off and it comes right back on, I've learned to ignore it. I rarely drive the thing anyway, to the point that the tires dry-rot from lack of use!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.