Excellent Wed visit in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • March 3, 2016, 1:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Oh my what a wonderful visit my HS friend and I had yesterday. She arrived at 8:30am and didn’t leave until 5pm. We talked and caught up with kids, grand kids, and life in general. It was like we picked up where we left off the last time we’d gotten together which we decided had been two years. It is hard to explain our friendship as it goes back over 45 yrs. We became close friends while we were in our 2d year of HS and only got closer as the years went by. My other HS friend had gotten married between our Freshman and Sophomore year so she had a husband to tend to and normal HS life for her ended. I would visit with her but her new husband was 20 yrs our senior and truthfully made me uncomfortable. Nor would he allow her to “hang out” with friends from school other than some of us would visit at their home. Just as a side note, she divorced him after a few years as he just tightened the “control” grip on her and she finally got tired of it. She is also still a great friend and another one I don’t see often even though we live in the same area. Life does that to us.

To continue with yesterday’s visit, we went out for lunch and ended up at Arby’s and then we came back to my house, continuing to talk about what ever came up. We didn’t dwell on our pasts although we did talk a little about why we ended up a strong independent women. We both had a rough and rocky several years that we supported each other through. It is hard for our kids to understand how we can be so close and only see other every couple of years, if that. It is a special friendship and a Blessing and we both recognize that and cherish it to the nth degree.

Amazingly I received no phone calls on either phone the entire day. My cell nor land line phone rang, even with from a pesky salesperson or survey robocaller.

All in all yesterday was a much needed and wonderful day.

Today I will meet A at noonish and go with her or her with me to pick up her taxes from her accountant 30 miles west of here. I am also hoping to find the fabric I use for her stylist’s smocks as she is needing a new one. Doubt that Walmart there has it, but did find it there on a fluck a couple of years ago and I believe there is a fabric store in the town too. Not like a chain store but a small business fabric store. I will Google to see if I can find one in a bit. We have to be back by 4pm for the bus so it will be a quick trip. That is fine but I could really use a few minutes to pick up a few things from a grocery section. If there isn’t time for that, then I’ll go tomorrow.

Dude’s kids are staying overnight on Sunday and then catch the bus from here on Monday. O does it twice a week and Monday morning is one of the days so I’ll have a busy household on Monday morning. It has been awhile since I’ve had that many to get up, have them get ready, fed and on a bus. Hope we make it or I’ll have to drive them to school. I know O will make it cause he’s ready when A drops him off and then he just eats some breakfast. Apparently breakfast at grandma’s is much better than breakfast at home or school. lol

Have a great day. Take care and God Bless


ODSago March 03, 2016

Wonderful to have time to spend with such a friend and not have to rush! I totally understand the closeness even without seeing each other often.

Deleted user March 04, 2016

How wonderful your visit was!! Your friendship definitely is something to cherish!
Nothing better than a grandma's home cooking! : )

Deleted user March 04, 2016

They get instant hot cereal and nifty toast here. :-)

cardslinger March 04, 2016

Grandma's are the best! Your visit with your long time friend sounds like just what the doctor ordered!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.