Too Fat To Paint my Toenails in Navigating the Shadowlands

  • March 2, 2016, 6:12 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, I’m sitting here a little peeved by my supervisor. Again. She’s new and she does not fit the dynamic of our school. Everyone here is very independent and hard working; no one here is a pass out a worksheet and check Facebook teacher. We all give our fullest. She doesn’t seem to get that, she comes in with an agenda and shoves it down our throats, micro-managing.
Case in point: whenever an admin needs us to come to a meeting after school, they always check in with us first to see what days we’d be available. After all, we all have lives outside of school (families, doctor visits, childcare issues, spouses who work, etc.). We can’t just drop everything to attend a meeting.
She sent out an email yesterday INFORMING us of a meeting on 3/16, lasting two hours after school (when most meetings last an hour). There are four of us who need to attend this meeting (not counting her). Two of us have conflicts…one of which is me! My husband works that night AND my daughter has piano lessons that night…so I can’t attend.
We let her know this and she got kind of snippy. The other teacher who has a conflict mentioned to her that, in the future, check with staff BEFORE scheduling a meeting and putting it on the board of ed. agenda…and she was miffed.

Sigh.

In other news, I have another weight loss surgery consult next Monday, I was not pleased with the first surgeon, I felt rushed and dismissed. I’m starting to really imagine my life a year post-op. Here are some things I am looking forward to once I reach goal weight:

  1. Being able to bend down to pick things up or tie my shoes.
  2. Being able to do my own pedicures.
  3. Not getting winded just walking a short distance.
  4. Being able to fit in amusement park rides with my kids.
  5. Not being afraid of not fitting in chairs (at parties, meetings, new settings, etc.)
  6. Not being afraid of breaking a chair.
  7. Not being so shy and embarrassed when meeting new people.
  8. Not feeling ashamed in front of my kids/kids’ friends.
  9. Being able to chase after my kids, my youngest has a tendency to bolt, and I have a hard time keeping up with her.
  10. Being able to buy the kind/style of clothes I want from any store and not being limited to plus size stores.

Deleted user March 02, 2016

<h1>5 and 6 are GREAT feelings. I use to worry about that all the time, especially when it came to patio/plastic chairs. And #10 , YES! I remember when I went into a "normal" size store and realized I fit into some of their clothes. Granted it was all large size (16/18) stuff but it was nice to not feel like I was limited to where I had to shop. And you'll save money too, plus sized stores charge so much more for clothing.</h1>
Silent Echo/Quiet Storm April 05, 2016

number 10 is my personal goal. good luck to both of us! take care,

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.