Another Monday morning in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • Feb. 29, 2016, 7:04 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Per the laptop clock it is 5:47am and J is eating his breakfast and getting his lunch ready. Actually he is taking leftovers from yesterday but he usually gets a couple of other things to add to his lunch box. The weekend was good. Decent temps but the winds were high. Wind gusts of up to 40mph and you knew it when you saw things that were displaced from their original spots and had blown either down the hill or across the yard or both. I did wander around out in the yard both days and picked up some things and put them back.

Took Dad to the diner on Saturday afternoon. We were there about 4:30ish and they had their catfish nuggets for all you could eat with french fries and coleslaw. Yum! The 3 of us (Dad, A, and me) ordered the catfish and what was brought to us was plenty and filled us up without getting anymore. A and O did go with us and think everyone enjoyed their meal. J, of course, ordered a cheeseburger and french fries. It is his “norm” order where ever I go. On occasion it is a bit frustrating and on rare occasions I can talk him into ordering something besides a cheese burger. Not often, but on occasion.

Dad thoroughly enjoyed his venture out and about and the fish dinner. My brother was using his shop when I went to pick Dad up and I did invite brother along, but he was working on his wife’s vehicle. I had one more seat available in the Tahoe so he could have ridden along, but he also had a bad cold, so he didn’t go with us.

Sunday was a strange day for me. I didn’t feel too swift most of the morning and made several trips to the bathroom. However the burning in the stomach was the thing that was the most uncomfortable. Kinda like your insides are on fire. I took some medicine for it and it eased up later in the day. I cooked chicken and noodles for supper and ate a little of it but not as much as I thought I would since I hadn’t eaten much all day. Oh well, I can certainly go for a long time before lack of food is going to hurt me. lol

I decided to try another bunny, but this time I used some denim. I enlarged the pattern a bit and extended the ears and ended up with a cute long eared bunny rabbit. I even used the embroidery machine and put a heart on his side. I may take its picture and add it before I post this. Next time though I won’t make his ears so big and put the “stiffener” all the way to end of the ear as that keeps them erect and not floppy. However, doing it as floppy makes it easier to get the bulk of fabric with the ears and body under the foot of the machine. Ah well. Gotta love it I guess.

Well J is done with breakfast and sitting on the couch waiting for the bus. The bus driver texted me last night and she will be coming about 15 min later for a few days. I get up before my alarm anyway so not going to change anything until DST kicks in weekend after next.
Well take a pause here, save it as private and return later.

Per the laptop it is 1:36 pm and I’ve gotten several things done, but there is more to do. Always more to do. I have finished 2 loads of laundry but have nothing folded and put away yet. Will do before day’s end as I pretty much have to because they are mine and laying on my bed waiting for me. I really can’t understand how I can have so much laundry to do, but I do. I change socks and undies every day, but usually wear the outside stuff two days in a row unless I’ve dirtied them up. Most times they aren’t really dirty even after two days except for thread pieces from sewing.

And another thing I’ve noticed since retirement. Toilet paper!! Good grief I use a lot of TP when home all the time. I know it is laughable that I would notice that, but good grief!! At least I know my bladder is doing its job which also probably means my coffee intake may have increased. Oh well I guess I’ll deal with it won’t I? Yep, I will.

Last entry I wrote about wishing I knew my monthly retirement check amount. Well low and behold when I went to the mailbox that day, there the notice sat waiting for me to open it. I was a bit taken aback as the amount they have settled on for my monthly amount is several hundred less than I was expecting. After I gave it some though and calculated my monthly expenses.....again, I realized that the amount they gave me, was close to the amount that I had thought it would be when I turned in my retirement application. I also know that I will pay off the house this year, unless I decide not to, but am pretty sure I will and if my plan stays the same, which it may not, but if it does, I will pay it off in October if not soon. See? I can’t be firm about the payoff month, even writing it here. With that expense taken care of, I’ll be fine. I should be fine anyway, but will just be more aware of my spending on “wants” and not required or needed. There is one thing I know for sure, my sewing will NOT supplement my retirement income. lol

Speaking of sewing, this is the denim bunny that I made yesterday.
alt text

Our school district dismissed early today due to a water main break so O came to my house, since his mom was still working her 2d job. She is home now and he is here waiting for my nephew (brother’s youngest son) to go feed the cows with him. Not sure I like O being around him, but it is his mom’s decision not mine. He IS finally helping out on the farm which took way too long for that to finally happen. He’s a musician/drummer wanna be. He wants to be a star as a drummer. Good luck.

The temperatures are in the 70s today and the wind isn’t blowing horribly which makes for a beautiful day outside. Of course, there is a winter something coming our way but we’ve actually been very blessed with a decent winter so far. Good grief, we’ve had snow in April in a few previous years. It doesn’t stay around long, but it still can do it if the mood hits.

I’m going to put this entry to rest and post it. I saw where Eric is working on ED and got the comment section where you can comment now. I’m sure that once Eric gets ED back up to par I will delete my diary/blog on BloopDiary. It is a lot like OD, but just don’t feel cozy there.

Take care and God Bless


Last updated February 29, 2016


invisible ink February 29, 2016

a denim bunny... like it...

GypsyWynd February 29, 2016

Cute bunny!

cardslinger March 01, 2016

We've had a very mild Winter here! We usually have several feet of snow but we can see some grass at the moment. It has been a nice reprieve from the last few brutal years!
Cute bunny!

aunty EM March 01, 2016

For one thing, there is less and less TP on a roll these days. Not only are the rolls getting skinnier, they are also narrower....Sheez!

crystal butterfly March 02, 2016

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.