I Ended It. in QUOTIDIEN

  • Feb. 27, 2016, 11:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

He never intended to fall in love - that’s what he told me within the first month. And he was all in. Trips to the ER with my daughter. Canceling his Texas trip for Thanksgiving so that he could spend it with me and Anne-Marie. After long days of training, a text requesting my presence at his place to pick up the dinner he’d made for us because he knew I’d be exhausted. The surprise, Saturday morning breakfasts and massages. In short, he spoiled me rotten, held me whenever I wanted/needed. Whispered countless sweet-somethings in my ear.

On that first date, he also told me that there was a job possibility he was waiting to hear on that could change his life - and that he would take it no matter what.

The job came through, and he’s gone - but not without the promise of maintaining a long-distance relationship.

Was this really what he wanted? OR was this just something guys say so they don’t have to be the one to say, ‘It’s over’?

For the love of God, fellas - be fecking honest.

I’m single again.


MJ's Page February 28, 2016

And I love him still.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm February 28, 2016

one of the problems with men. and the major reason i won't ever have one in my life again. at least, i'm honest with me. damn it, i hate it that he used you like that til something better came along. you'll stop loving him when it gets to making you mad at the way he did you in the end. take care,

🌻StillJustMe🌸 February 28, 2016

Deleted user February 28, 2016

Hoping his heart is broken too :-( Hugs !

MJ's Page Deleted user ⋅ February 28, 2016

It is. Just not much we can do.

Deleted user MJ's Page ⋅ March 01, 2016

That is so hard. I am sorry...

GypsyWynd February 28, 2016

I'm sorry it didn't work out. Long distance relationships are so hard.

cricket_factor February 28, 2016

That sucks. Why even get involved with you in the first place? Were you a pleasant diversion to reality? So you had to make the call not to get involved with him first?

ODSago February 28, 2016

My daughter after being divorced married a man who told her he loved her as much as he could love anyone...and while she still loves him a decade after...he is not easy to love...he retreats. Just a cautionary story. She says if she'd known then what she knows now, she'd have taken more time and may not have made the decision she did.

I'm so sorry for your dashed hopes and feelings.

WhatDreamsMayCome February 29, 2016

Sometimes guys just don't really know what we want. And then sometimes something new and unexpected unfolds and it makes the decision all the more difficult. And then sometimes we just fuck up. Pardon the French. ;-)

Noodlebugs! February 29, 2016

I think I agree with all of your commenters. WDMC said it pretty accurately...I don't think most men set out to be dickheads. He was hedging his bets by taking up with you just in case the other job didn't come through--he didn't want to lose both good things. But it was at your expense and in his selfishness, he didn't see that. It sucks. You're such a good person, a great catch. i don't understand what is with these guys. You deserve so much more.

Overachiever February 29, 2016

I'm so sorry hon. I think most people are as honest as they're able to be in relationships. He should've been more up-front about his intentions to move though. That sucks.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.