5:22 AM-Saturday in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • Feb. 27, 2016, 5:44 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Woke up early this morning. Of course I did, it is Saturday. Blah! O stayed overnight and he was awake by 5am. Told him he could go get in my bed, but he didn’t want to. He’s on the old laptop watch a kid’s movie. Not sure what today will bring, but it is my Dad’s 87th birthday today. I have a tentitive plan of taking him about 25 miles east to a place called “Cookin from Scratch”. It is a truck stop diner and has been in several published mags and papers about its good food. If it doesn’t work out to take him today, I’ll take him at a later time. Problem with that idea is: He usually won’t allow me to buy his dinner or supper. I might be able to win this time though since it will be his birthday meal.

I have made 6 more felt bunnies and since I didn’t post pictures of the previous felt bunnines, I will now. Haven’t taken a picture of the ones I finished yesterday but the felt bunny rabbits are selling but not the flannel ones. Hard to know what folks want.

The felt ones:
alt text

The pink bunny that has “sold” on it is the one O picked out earlier last week. Not sure how many have noticed but actually the ears are backwards. lol Thankfully he didn’t seem to care so it now is his. All but two of these have sold, but it is looking like they will too.

I have a deposit “pending” in my checking account and the best thing about it, is that it tells you the amount. It is my retirement check for 1 March. I’ll be interested to see what the letter that will come in the mail will tell me about this amount as I don’t think it is what the monthly amount will be when they finally get this figured out. I’m getting a bit annoyed with how long this is taking as figuring my monthly amount should be easy for them. No breaks in service, no weird stuff during the 32 years. Just straight work time for 32 years. Hopefully my April 1st, it will be figured out and stay consistent. I can hope. Well except for any cost of living changes.

I forgot to tell you that work secretary called me again last week. I’m not very helpful anymore. Strange how this works out. I feel like I finally have some respect, but I’m not there. Kinda oxymoronish, don’t you think?

If A’s afternoon client cancels I will go up with O and get her to cut my hair. I haven’t had it cut since early December and it really needs to be trimmed at least. She doesn’t like me to wash it the day or even day before I have her cut it, so won’t wash it before I go up. If her PM client doesn’t cancel, I will have to wash it this evening anyway.

It is supposed to warm up today and I think tomorrow and then I heard the forecast for snow again. I apparently shut out the when and just keep waiting for spring. I have lots of the early flowers up so they should be blooming in a couple of weeks. They seem to tolerate this up and down weather better than I do. The only way they won’t is if we get a hard freeze and then it will take them out for spring. Thankfully, they will still return next spring.

I have several house things to do today since I haven’t done much except laundry the last couple of days. My list for today is:

Dishes
Straighten kitchen
Vacuum LR
Vacuum my bedroom
Straighten in laundry room
Gather trash and take to barrels

That is all I’m putting on the list for today so I have a better chance of getting everything done. No guarantee, but a chance.

Take care and God Bless


Last updated February 27, 2016


ODSago February 27, 2016

Darling bunnies! LOL on the ear thing. I'm not a perfectionist and didn't notice until you mentioned it. Your dad is three years older than I am. I bet he'll love the truck stop meal, many people have a romantic idea about truck stops. Like the center of the world idea ... wonder why politicians don't go to truck stops for an entire day -- the middle of America. Anyway, both of our dads would have loved the truck stop meal, just saying.

No reason I can think of for that delay re retirement checks. Has no one else retired? Weird.

middle age pearl ODSago ⋅ February 27, 2016

Its the Fed Gov't. They can do nothing quickly or even timely. I'll be fine, but will feel more better when I KNOW what to expect each month.

GypsyWynd February 27, 2016

Cute bunnies! I wonder if the felt ones are selling more quickly because they're such bright, happy colors?

middle age pearl GypsyWynd ⋅ February 27, 2016

Yes, think you're right. The flannel bunnies are baby and toddler friendly. The felt bunnies, because of the pom pom tails, not so much. The yarn can be pulled out with teeth and even determined fingers so I put that info on the selling site. The flannel bunnies are sooo much softer than the felt, but whatever.

GypsyWynd middle age pearl ⋅ February 27, 2016

Are the flannel bunnies washable? If they're toddler-friendly, washability would be a big plus. Could you make bright colored flannel ones?

middle age pearl GypsyWynd ⋅ February 27, 2016

Yes they are washable. I'm almost "bunnied out for this year I think. I'll see what happens after Wednesday's visit with my HS friend. Maybe then. Maybe. lol

Deleted user February 27, 2016

I think it is just wonderful your dad is able to get out and about with you. The diner sounds good. :-)

Deleted user February 28, 2016

Such cute bunnies! I love them!
It was in the 50's here yesterday and it's supposed to snow today. Boo!

crystal butterfly February 28, 2016

I like the bunnies. And I'm with CommonsenseChristian. Tell them you need a fee for consulting.

Freewind February 29, 2016

My father loved truck stop diners and so do I. They are few and far between. Houston does really have one any more which is sad. Thank you for the lovely note. Your industrious self amazes me and yes living in the woods is great despite inconveniences like your armadillo...lol. Don't care for those critters but we had two pet raccoons when I was a kid, raised from the same litter but the mother was killed before they opened their eyes. My sister and I are a bit soft on them but I watch to make sure we don't get overrun by the wild ones who can be destructive. The one we do feed the one coon but he has been coming here since he was a six month kit.

Freewind February 29, 2016

Love the bunnies!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.