A lazy day in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • Feb. 25, 2016, 6:32 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was close to worthless today. Today was J’s early day to catch the bus to work, although he was a bit later than a reg early Wed. No idea why, but it makes for a bit of tension wondering if everything is ok, or did I miss something that called off work for them today, due to the weather in the southern part of the state. We didn’t get any snow that I saw but it was cloudy and windy all day. The sun is trying to peek out now which is better late than never. Maybe the blah weather made me blah and tired today. Not sure, but I laid down on the couch about 11 and rested about 45 minutes. I had washed dishes and some laundry before that and had also decided to list some of my bunnies on our local FB sight for stuff for sale. I’ve sold of the bunnies so took them and separated them from the others and put them in a ziplock bag with the buyers name on it. I’ll meet up with her in the future and we’ll exchange. She is the daughter of a friend from work who passed away several years ago and we still keep in touch. Like the rest of my friends, not often do we see each other but a couple of times a year we try and meet for lunch. They always have drama going on in their family so twice a year is plenty for us to meet. lol

I warmed up some beef and veggie soup that I had made the other day and had a little bit of it and some wheat ritz crackers. Not fond of Ritz crackers with soup but they were free and came in a small pack so I used them instead of saltines.

Still tired so wanted to lay down again but the RLS didn’t like that. Soooo I took a 1/2 a tab of the med and while giving it time to do its magic, I began straightening up my sewing room. Geeze! I got a lot of stuff back in place but there are still things to place. I put all my felt in one container and if I make more felt bunnies it will be easy to find and get to. Actually I only have 1/2 of the felt bunnies I made not sold but not sure the others will sell so will wait a day or two to make any more.

I didn’t put everything on the sell sight and think I priced the baby quilts to high. I may have to reduce the price on them to get them sold. Each of the baby quilts have a matching changing pad with them so I will only go so low. If they don’t sell at a lower price, then I’ll keep them and have them available for gifts in the future.

I did lay back down and then my house phone rang. Wrong number. *sigh I laid down again, but after about 30 minutes I got back up. I still feel tired, but bedtime will arrive and I’ll try again and maybe I’ll actually get some rest. I HATE waking up tired. No energy, no motivation, no umph. No production. Well not enough anyway.

Going to use a BBQ glaze for the pork steaks I didn’t use for Saturday’s meal and think I’ll make macaroni salad to go with it. I have salad and cottage cheese that we need to use so will have those too. I’m hoping there is enough pork steak to have leftovers for another meal for us.

I guess that is all I have today. At least I can’t think of anything else. Take care and God Bless


Last updated February 25, 2016


Deleted user February 25, 2016

That's the best part of being retired. You can take a resting break whenever you want to. :-)

seafarer February 25, 2016

resting is important!!!! I do lots of it!!!...but then, I am a procrastinator!!!
I love pork, it is my favorite meat and considering I don't eat any red meat, I have to be creative with pork and chicken too.....

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm February 25, 2016

macaroni salad, that sounds really good. think i'll make some this morning for lunch and dinner today. sometimes, sleep is really hard. if i don't worry about it when i get less than i need, i'll get caught up in a day or two. i find if i worry about it, sleep doesn't come. prayers you are able to sleep. i love pork chops but, am unable to cook it to where it's tender. it's always tough and dry so, i don't buy it anymore. take care,

middle age pearl Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ February 25, 2016

The oven or crock pot will tenderize pork most times. The only cut of pork I haven't been able to cook to be tender and moist is pork loin. I usually cook my pork chops (but mostly buy the pork steaks and remove as much fat as possible) in the oven in aluminum foil. I use a pan lined with aluminum foil, add a can of mushroom soup and 2/3 can of water and stir. Add the pork steak, cover with aluminum foil and bake at 350 for 45 minutes to an hour. Fork tender.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.