New Look in All Aboard the Tinsel Train!

  • Feb. 21, 2016, 10:56 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Entry totally steeped in vanity issues. Read at your own peril.

When last I shared, I had used a rinse to cover the broadening stripe - nature’s landing strip, no doubt, for the wisdom that is supposed to come with age. Bahaha! THEN, I made a new friend who took one look at my damaged hair, and decided that this just wouldn’t do. She cut my hair, and came up with a plan. Look - you listen to plans especially when the person who has them is wielding scissors.

So…I have long fought layers. I’m not sure why - but if ever I allowed them, they were to be long layers. Then I wondered why my hair didn’t have the body I remembered from my youth…in the eighties…WHEN MY HAIR WAS LAYERED. “Trust me”, says this young woman with the pastel lavender and blonde locks, “I wouldn’t steer you wrong on this”. Then, because my hair was lightened in a FRYING kind of way, leaving me with the calico look mentioned in my previous entry - and was the first to shine through as my rinse began to fade, she suggested going back to my natural color - all the way through. DARKEST BROWN. Okay. And so we did. What came out was BLACK - and expected, within a few washes, to be exactly where it needs to be. In about 1 months, the work of pulling some dark up into my regrowth begins. This is what my hair is like now.

My daughter’s reaction when I came out of the bathroom was ‘WHAT HAPPENED?!’

‘Um…I dried it. I swear!’

‘But it’s so....BIG!’ I kind of had that feeling going on as well. I looked in the mirror and wondered if I was bringing the Farrah back. Then I wondered if I was too old to pull this kind of thing off. Then I said, ‘to heck with it all. It feels nice.’

I confess that this feels like a HUGE cheat - and wonder, in my heart-of-hearts - if this isn’t a ‘partie remise’ - game called on account of chicken-shit.

alt text


Last updated February 21, 2016


Deleted user February 21, 2016

I like it

NorthernSeeker February 21, 2016

Your hair looks great.

cricket_factor February 21, 2016

I think it looks beautiful!!!

raeven February 21, 2016

I love it!

middle age pearl February 21, 2016

The color and style look really really good. Good for the stylist and you for allowing her to do her thing!

FitLadyDi February 21, 2016

Beautiful!

Lis75 February 21, 2016

I love it

Seasons February 21, 2016

Very flattering!

GypsyWynd February 21, 2016

I think you look fabulous!!! She didn't steer you wrong. Wish I could find a hairdresser like that.

Deleted user February 22, 2016

Looks wonderful! I am jealous. Keep it !

Calicakes February 22, 2016

You look 20yrs younger.

Noodlebugs! February 22, 2016

Seriously...it is amazing! It really did take 20 years off like the other commenter said. Please keep it--color and cut!! Heck, my thought was that might just make that fella of yours move back from the coast. If not, you'll be beating back men with a stick. And keep your stylist too--good ones are hard to come by and if this work is an indication, she is very good at what she does.

MJ's Page Noodlebugs! ⋅ February 23, 2016

Thanks. I'm learning to love it more. :). Stylist said to use the Beach Waves spray when my hair is wet, then just scrunch and dry for a different look. I should probably wait until the weekend.

Noodlebugs! MJ's Page ⋅ February 23, 2016

It doesn't get better than scrunch and dry!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.