Sunday AM-6:30am in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • Feb. 21, 2016, 6:40 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Been up for about an hour. Read diaries here and on ED. I was really behind in ED and had missed some back entries from some of my favs. I like the way PB keeps track and shows all entries and if I don’t get here everyday or have time to read, I can still keep up.

Company arrived and we talked a mile a minute. This cousin has a brother who came down to the farm at LEAST twice a year and usually more often to hunt or fish and visit. He is now in failing health and it saddens me to know that such an active outdoor man is now almost bedridden. His brother that visited is thinking his younger brother is in his end years as his health problems just keep multiplying. Please keep him in your prayers. His name is Mike. Charlie is the older brother’s name who is the visitor along with his wife who came yesterday. They bragged and bragged and on the supper and it did turn out tasty. Pork steak in mushroom soup gravy, mashed potatoes, green beans, lettuce salad, cottage cheese, and celery and carrot sticks and then a peach cobbler for desert. It was good if I say so myself. And we could still continue to visit while enjoying the meal, which you can’t always do when you dine out.

They had planned on going back to St Louis, but about 45 minutes after they left, Charlie called me and they had a low tire when they got ready to leave dad’s after they took him home from here. He had aired up his tire, but it continued to lose air pressure so they went into our small hometown to try and find someone who could fix his tire. Well folks, my home town, rolls up the streets at around 6pm but the Casey’s store told him to go to a place, which he did. He said they were hateful and rude, and would in no way entertain the idea of fixing a tire since they were “officially” closed. What the? I am so embarrassed to call that my home town. I’m even considering writing a letter to the editor and mentioning that “attitude” may be why our home town is dying. Businesses need to be customer friendly, even when the customer isn’t “that good ol boy” that they know. HUMPH! I know my cousin, and whomever this was, missed out on a substantial tip.

He was calling me to let me know they were returning to dad’s to spend the night and will be taking the tire to the bigger town west of us to get the tire fixed this morning. I will be following them over to make sure that after he airs it up again, it doesn’t go completely flat before they can get it serviced. I am pretty sure that Walmart will have their car care open today so that should work out for them. I am just so sorry that my little hick town left that impression on someone and especially my cousin who would do anything for anybody to help them. Again HUMPH!

Could have been a good reason the tire was leaking, in that just as they arrived back at my dad’s the skies opened up. Driving in that could have been a bad thing. So maybe all this happened for a bigger reason.

Not much else to write about. I spent the morning getting the house straightened up then make a quick trip to the grocery store and back home. I did stop at sister on the way back home and chatted with her about 30 minutes and then back home. I still need to do the dishes from last night even though cousin’s wife said she would help, but visiting with them is so rare I wouldn’t let them help. I can do it today/this morning and we’ll all survive even though the dishes weren’t washed last night. Yes, I woke up to sinks full of dirty dishes, but it was just a reminder of the great night and visit from last night.

Take care and God Bless


Last updated February 21, 2016


GypsyWynd February 21, 2016

Sounds like you all had a good time.
Customer service just isn't what it used be. Shame on them for being rude.

seafarer February 21, 2016

glad you had a good visit with family.... I never use my dishwasher, well except to store pots and pans! I prefer to handwash though sometimes I procrastinate and let them sit... dang I am getting lazier and lazier.. I need to go back to work to find motivation!!!

Deleted user February 21, 2016

Glad you had a good visit and the dinner sounded delicious!
Prayers for Mike and your family.
I work in customer service and would never speak to anyone that way. I would be fired if I did!

crystal butterfly February 22, 2016

It was rude. But I know with a bank and people want in their safe deposit box after the lobby is closed most of the reason is for the bank's insurance policies. But in my hometown you would not have gotten a tire fixed after hours or on a weekend.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.