Company is coming in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • Feb. 20, 2016, 11:52 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

A cousin and his wife are coming to visit dad, myself, and maybe my sister and brother today. They plan to be here around 1ish and they are also planning to spend the night. I’m getting the guest prepared in case they want to stay here but I am pretty sure they will stay at dad’s house. Whichever the choose is fine with me and actually if they choose dad’s that would suit me just fine. I’m such an early to bed person that it could be a very long evening for me if they are night owls.

This is a cousin on my mom’s side. He grew up in St Louis and several years ago he moved to FL. Around Panama City vicinity. He was in real estate for awhile but I guess it tanked and he sold several properties and now has to work where ever he can. I think he works for FEMA but I could be wrong about that but he is working out of St Louis now and his wife has joined him for a while. He came to visit just before Thanksgiving or Christmas (can’t remember which) and I think she came back with him when he returned from the holiday vacation.

Anyway he is a very VERY loud talker so even though my dad is only wearing one of his hearing aids, I think he’ll be able to hear cousin just fine. Cousin’s wife? Maybe not. Cousin called me last night to make sure dad was doing ok and not been sick or felt bad before they called him this morning to tell him they would like to come for a visit. I decided to cook supper for them instead of dad taking all of out to eat so I made a trip to the local grocery store and bought fixins for Porksteak in mushroom soup, mashed potatoes, green beans, a lettuce salad and cottage cheese. I also am going to make a quick peach cobbler that makes it own crust and is pretty easy to make. When I came home from the store, I saw my sister and nephew out on their front porch, so felt like I should pull in to say hi. It may sound horrible, and probably is, but I didn’t invite them down for supper. If nephew comes, which he would, you just cannot have a conversation with anyone else. He wants and insists on being the center of attention and wears you out trying to talk or engage with anyone else. I do feel a bit guilty and if the guilt gets too much I’ll end up calling her. Last time, cousin visited, he went up and visited with her and then went to brothers to visit with them. My family (ok ME) are so strange when it comes to things such as this. If I invite sister then, shouldn’t I invite brother? I don’t have enough pork steak or energy to cook a meal for 10-12 people so I’m not gonna.

So I made another bunny last night and this morning. I cut the fabric pieces bigger and used some lace on pink polyester. I like the results. Think I’ll ask cousin’s wife what she thinks about pricing the quilts, the receiving blankets and the bunnies. Can’t anyone else to give me a number to start with so will ask someone who hopefully will be honest and upfront. How much would she be willing to pay for those items? The numbers that come to my mind are as follows: The little bunnies: $7, the big bunny: $10; The quilt as you go quilt with matching changing pad: $35.00 and the quilted quilt with pad: $35.00. Reversible receiving blankets all at least 39x40-$22.50. So what do YOU think. You will NOT hurt my feelings if these prices are too much. I researched on Ebay and the prices vary all over the place, so I’m just “throwing a dart” so to speak.

I need to vacuum the living room and hallway and then do a quick sweep of the kitchen and I’ll be ready to start preparing for the supper meal.

Temperatures are again in the lower 70s and it is beautiful with some clouds moving in to the area. Rain is supposed to start later this afternoon and the temps will begin dropping. By Tuesday there will be a chance of snow. ICK!

Take care and God Bless


GypsyWynd February 20, 2016

Beautiful weather here, too. I'm sitting outside.
I don't know much about baby items, but considering the work involved, your prices sound reasonable. I'd spend $10 for a bunny.

ODSago February 20, 2016

Oh I do hope you enjoy your visitors. It is always hard to figure who to invite or if anyone should be invited at all for a family event. I don't want to prep for 10 or 12 or cook for them either, not any more. My adult children who live here just don't cook much of anything. My son said recently that he loved what they did for Christmas day...a tray of deli meat, cheese, and crackers. Everyone nibbles on it all day. I didn't comment, but I thought. Yep! I thought about it. Not my way. But cooking for all the family isn't mine any more either. Maybe a tray of deli meat..etc..is in my future.

ODSago February 20, 2016

Oh...cannot help with pricing but my instincts are that the prices you quote are low for hand-made items. Did you check on the Amazon artist-made items? I forget what it's called but ordered some earrings there and a wreath at the holiday season.

aunty EM February 21, 2016

We are getting so spoiled with the spring-like weather we tend to forget it is still Winter. Hope you had a good time with your relatives.

seafarer February 21, 2016

I wish I had the umph to get things done like you do...I seem to have lost motivation for doing anything lately.....

crystal butterfly February 22, 2016

I hope you enjoy your company and I would not add anyone to the guest list.

middle age pearl crystal butterfly ⋅ February 22, 2016

I didn't. Only had cousin and his wife, my dad, and J. Worked out fine.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.