So Far So Good in Magical Realism

Revised: 02/18/2016 10:55 p.m.

  • Feb. 18, 2016, 9:56 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We rang in 2016 at the top of the new One World Trade Center Observatory with amazing views, fireworks, and champagne. You know you’re up high when fireworks look low/small. It was nicer to take the elevator 102 flights up instead of running up the staircase.

alt text

I left for China less than a week later. A was supposed to come with me for the whole trip but some work stuff came up so he didn’t join until a week later. I met my swim friends in Beijing, we headed up to Xining up in the Tibetan region. (Culturally this area is Tibetan but techically China right now.)

alt text

We did the test swim for the Yellow River Extreme Crossing which was a bit technical due to a very strong current. I nailed it on the test swim but then got my safety buoy tangled with two of the Russian girls and was a bit too conservative with my line during the actual swim. Met a tribe of international triathletes living in China who are sponsored by the government to compete in events there. Tempting. I would live in Hong Kong for sure, Shanghai maybe.

alt text

Won money but overall disappointed by my performance. Went to beautiful temples with my friends and spent a snowy evening in natural hot springs in the Tibetan mountains. The women were in one side of the springs and the men on the other, and they sang songs back and forth in the dark. Magical.

alt text

Headed back to Beijing and met up with the larger group. Did the tourist stuff, walked the Great Wall instead of running a marathon on it, and finally toured the Forbidden City. Foot massages at Silk Road Mall. A got in that night and it was great to see him.

alt text

The next day we took the bullet train to Jinan. Test swim in the Jinan Lake. M pushed A in the lake - I think he was jealous. The next day was the real swim. Again I performed dismally - got a good start and was with the lead back for the first quarter. I am out of shape and couldn’t hang. Towards the end I got passed by one of the Russians and I didn’t even care. Won money but I didn’t deserve it. I love the Jinan Lake though, always misty and beautiful:

alt text

Epic party that night - I’d say too much firewater but even a little firewater is too much for me. The only thing surprising was that I didn’t get sick or even feel sick the next morning. Ganbei.

alt text

Then next day we drove to Zhouzhang, the ancient walled city in Taizerhuang District. This is always a magical place for me. I love swimming in the Grand Canal. It was very cold but they made a beautiful pool for us. We had to choose one event and I did ice butterfly for the first time. Wonderful. I got to do a relay with A but it was right afterwards and I was shivering uncontrollably on deck. Once I got in again I was okay. Once I got out I felt good again, good enough to pose for oodles of photos with the local swimmers. Gala banquet again that night, with presentations. Then back to Beijing via bullet train and one more night in the city. Said goodbyes and flew home with A.

Got home on Wednesday, had a short work trip the next week, and got home the day before the US Championships. Got there at the crack for interviews and then swam all the individual events and two relays. Overall gold in both breaststroke events and silver in the sprints including the 25 free which I did butterfly. I am out of shape so wasn’t happy with my longer events but what can you do. Was invited to swim in the IWSA relay and an all-female ice fly relay. IWSA was a big honor and we got bronze. Not bad.

alt text

The next day we went to Coney Island to swim with the Polar Bears, it was a much nicer day but I just couldn’t bring myself to get in the water. I do this every once in a while. After that we went to a Russian Banya which was really fun. We drank, dipped in all the pools and the Russian guys did a platza on each of us in the sauna. It was so interesting -such an intense power exchange in the hot air being hit/massaged with birch branches. We said our goodbyes but I was going to see everyone in England just a few days later.

That Thursday I flew to Glasgow, my friend Karen picked me up and we drove to Windemere in Cumbria, England. We dipped in the lake, hot tubbed, and went to a gala/awards dinner that night. The next day was a long one. I swam all the individual events with about a hour’s break between each. 450 freestyle, 120 free, 30 breast, 60 free, and I was invited back for the IWSA relay again. Strong English girls, especially in my age group, I only won the breaststroke and we got first in the relay. It was pissing rain the entire time.

alt text

My old crush was there with his new girlfriend and their BABY. He said hello to me and I didn’t even recognize him, he looks like he’s aged 10 years since I last saw him a few months ago. There was limited time after the awards so I didn’t even bother showering for the Barn Dance. Dinner was tasty but the speaker went on way too long and it was kind of lame afterwards. I had to be fairly fresh for the 1000 the next day anyway.

alt text

Sunday I was in the first heat at 9am and did the 240 and the the 1000 right afterwards, I never really rewarmed but it was okay. Still raining and lots of mud but water wasn’t too cold. I think I got silver in the 240 and gold in the 1000, but there were only 2 girls in my age group for the 1km. Drove back to Scotland with Karen afterward and crashed at her place before heading to the airport for my 9am flight Monday. Flight got in early and I was home and unpacked by 1pm NYC time. Did work the rest of the day from home, worked from the office on Tuesday, then headed out on a short work trip Wednesday into Thursday.

Made it to Newark where I met up with A and we flew to Stockholm. Short layover and then on to Skelleftea, just below the Arctic Circle. Met up with everyone in the airport and caught a ride into town with some of the event organizers. I did some work, then we went to some presentations, watched a few folks test the water, then went to a group dinner. The next day I swam the 25 breaststroke, 50 freestyle, 3 relays, and the 200 freestyle. The distances were short but there was a wicked current the first lap of the 50 and the odd laps of the 200. I was the only female from USA so I swam twice to give the guys a shot to swim (each relay needed at least one female) and then I was invited to swim with IWSA again which was too good to pass up. These were breaststroke relays so I was able to be a real asset to each team.

alt text

I was so cold though - did two consecutive heats, then a pause, then the last relay. Went straight to the sauna in hopes of warming up enough before my 200. It wasn’t ideal but it went okay. All golds in my age group, first overall in the 200, and gold for the IWSA relay. Our USA-A team relay was 4th so we basically beat ourselves there.

alt text

Beautiful Swedish ice pool.

I thought Roman was joking when he asked if I wanted to do some ice fly with him, but he ended up being serious, so we did it. So much fun. We had awards right after the swimming, then a dinner, the boys got wasted and we walked around during Skelleftea’s pride weekend (this is a town of 75,000 people.) Got up way too early in the morning to take the (cheap and convenient) bus to the airport, connected through Stockholm again, then on to NYC. I slept the whole way home and woke up fairly productive that afternoon NY time. I was a little bummed/cranky because it was my dad’s birthday and Valentine’s Day and A hadn’t gotten me anything, but when I got home the new Chanel shoes I’d ordered for myself had arrived so I wore those around the house and drank a glass of absinthe and felt much happier.

Monday I worked and A had the day off, I came home for lunch and we hung out together. Worked out Tuesday, did lunchtime yoga and then HIIT after work with A, then Wednesday morning back to back HIIT and then vinyasa. Packed and headed out for work trip later that afternoon, and it’s been a productive few days.

I am almost at zero inbox, but not quite. Dare to dream. And with some luck, I will be home by 11pm tomorrow evening, cuddled up with A.


Last updated February 22, 2016


Deleted user February 18, 2016

How amazing !!!

DefyingRules February 18, 2016

I used to read your adventures on OD (I was DefyingRules on there, before that LondonRain/only naive I think lol)-clicked you on the front page here to check out without even realizing it was you until I saw the pictures and recognized you! Very nice to find you again!

Satine DefyingRules ⋅ February 18, 2016

Hey! I remember you - need to go catch up now on your doings!

DefyingRules Satine ⋅ February 19, 2016

Unfortunately, I don't write nearly as much as I should lol and my life is relatively boring!

Red February 18, 2016

You must have four zillion frequent flyer miles. Love all your adventures!

Complicated Disaster February 19, 2016

I'm so gutted I couldn't make it to Chillswim. Next year for sure!! xx

LotusButterfly February 19, 2016

I love when your name shows up in my Bookmarks!! Loved the pictures, and all that swimming and traveling, I am so happy about how content you sound :) Your trip to Asia sounds amazing, and that evening in the natural hot springs in the Tibetan mountains with the singing and everything sounds absolutely mesmerising. <3

Mercurial Muse February 19, 2016

I've been to Beijing, Xi'an, and Shanghai, but your description of the Tibeatan region is enchanting.

And all of this sounds lovely. Not sure if it's just me though, but any pictures after you in the red dress and that gorgeous lipstick don't show up

Satine Mercurial Muse ⋅ February 19, 2016

I think I fixed it? Hopefully!

Mercurial Muse Satine ⋅ February 19, 2016

Yay!

Deleted user February 19, 2016

all i can think is 1) wasn't your booty freezing on that wall? and 2) lol having a baby has aged yo' crush.

Jigger February 19, 2016

Ooh, you grew out your bangs! Looking good. (I know that's not what's truly important here, but still. Pretty hairs!) I love reading about your life. MFK always looks askance at me when I tell him about your travels. He has never quite recovered since seeing the pictures of you swimming in Antarctica.

nightborn February 19, 2016

Love that first pic of you guys. You look beautiful.

Absinthe + Chanel is a winning combination. :)

~Mrs. O~ February 19, 2016

What an incredible start to the new year! I was just thinking of you the other day (haven't seen an update in awhile). You are one busy lady.

The photos are gorgeous!

sarahbaby. February 19, 2016

Holy shit. You're a machine!!

Deleted user February 19, 2016

I absolutely love the red dress!

Bluesea February 19, 2016

Amazing as always.

Orion is obsessed with going to China. I've been reading him books on New York City because he has a project coming up, and as soon as he found out NYC had a Chinatown he said we should go there because it's closer.

Satine Bluesea ⋅ February 19, 2016

That's so cute! I remember being really interested in Chinese history and culture when I was his age. I didn't make it there until I was 34 so I hope he gets there a bit sooner than me. SF has a very picturesque Chinatown, he might like that?

pandora February 19, 2016

Is your airfare usually covered for these events where you swim? That's a lot of flying! Did you have a chance to see much of Stockholm or was it purely in and out?

A has such a cute tiny little face!!

Satine pandora ⋅ February 19, 2016

It depends on the event and sponsoring country what is covered. We did not see ANY of Stockholm but I want to go back soon to explore!

kiss kitty bang! February 19, 2016

That sounds amazing. I'm jealous of how much you get to travel! I really want to go to China someday.

You are so beautiful, inside and out. :-) Love the first photo.

dickson. February 19, 2016

AHHHH this is absolutely amazing.

Calicakes February 19, 2016

I swear, you're like the energizer bunny. Go, go, go. Amazing. Does A swim?

Satine Calicakes ⋅ February 19, 2016

Yep! He's the guy in the bathing suit in a lot of the photos :)

Miso Honey February 19, 2016

Always in awe of these entries. You are so awesome. I can't really say anything else that another noter hasn't said better. You make me want to travel. You make me want to compete in things.

echopod February 19, 2016

So amazing! In the words of Tiny Fey, I want to go to there. (All of them!)

Catlady February 19, 2016

I love reading your entries.. you go to places I can only dream of going.. Enjoy.. and keep writing and posting pictures <3

propland February 19, 2016

You are amazing!

kmh. February 20, 2016

So amazing!

plushcreep February 22, 2016

I love the Chinese graffiti on the Great Wall. Hope it isn't some smart ass kid telling us all to go f*ck ourselves. (Even if it is...it looks pretty.)

Narciso February 23, 2016

Hello, old friend :)

hot-lips February 23, 2016

I have serious travel envy every time I come to your diary! Do you swim professionally? As you're always going somewhere exciting and swimming. lol And you always look so photogenic. x

Deleted user February 25, 2016

Your life and your lifestyle is beyond amazing, I hope you are keeping everything in a journal because really, you should write a book. Congrats on everything and of course congrats on the Chanel shoes, yummy!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.