Beautiful day = lack of purpose in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • Feb. 17, 2016, 3:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, sorta. I did get several things done early this morning. Actually I did pretty good until around 11:30 when I stopped to fix a frozen burrito for lunch. Then I noticed how bright the sun was shining and upon investigation how warm it had gotten today. It is in the 50s. I decided to go out and “feel” the sun and it felt so good. I just stood outside and started thinking about spring planting. Concentrating on areas of the yard and what I was going to do in that area, if anything this spring. Where will I place my raised garden bed or beds I wondererd? Still not sure. The only thing that makes me hesitate is the when the grands come to visit they ride their bicycles in the yard and I want to keep them a place to ride without chancing running into the garden beds and also allowing room for me to use the tractor mower to mow between. I know. Lots to think about and maybe not enough yard to do it all either. I’ll keep thinking and imagining and I’ll come up with a plan. When I figure out “the plan” then the dirt will be next. I’ll either ask Dude to get some get rich dirt from the barnlot and then sprinkle it all over the seed stopper so I can contain the grasses and weed seeds in the dirt, OR I’ll order some to be delivered. Either way, it will have the seed killer put on it. Thus anything I plant will need to be started before it is planted. I usually do it that way anyway so shouldn’t be a big deal.

I know it is only the middle of February, but when the weather gets better even on occasion, that is where my thought go to.

I downloaded a free Word type program. It is called Apache OpenOffice. It only took about 30 minutes for the entire process and I opened up the document and spreadsheet applications and I’m impressed. Think it is going to work just fine for me and I won’t incur another expense for new software.

Washed all of J’s bed stuff today and spot cleaned the carpet too. Still need to vacuum it again and it should be fresh as a daisy in there. Ok. Maybe not daisy, but clean anyway. Not being a very good at having him clean up every night but I do have him do it every 2d or 3d day. I noticed while in his room he has two small bags of trash that WILL BE put in the trash container in the garage when he gets home tonight. I can’t blame him, as it is my fault I haven’t been more adamant about this. I was the first couple of years in the house, but kinda fell down on the job after that it seems. Guess it isn’t too late to start again.

I also need to get motivated to do more deep cleaning. I think the back room where the freezer, hot water heater and water softener are located will be next on the list. It reminds me each time I go back there, that it has not had its turn yet and it really needs its turn. Want to rearrange some shelving and cabinet and again will purge more stuff. There may not be as much throwing away, but relocation instead. I keep a lot of my big pots and cooking pans back there not to mention canning jars and various other things I don’t use very often. It is time to get more efficient and effective.

Thursday and Friday I will take my dad to appointments. Thursday is an eye appointment for him and Friday will be for his hearing aids. His hearing aids give him so much trouble and he has some of the best quality made. Still, they quit or get to making sounds or something wrong. I really wish his hearing aid appointment was before the eye appointment, but I will be there to repeat to him. If you listen, you may be able to hear me. ;)

Made a stuffed bunny this morning too. Don’t like the pattern so won’t make it again. Will keep looking for a bunny rabbit pattern I like or can remake into something I like.

So I went back to ED. I understand that Eric is researching to see if he can do something to prolong the life of ED. I like ED. Hey, I like Bloopers too. Just not sure how to remove myself once I commit to creating a user name and writing. Not sure 3 diaries are even needed for anyone, but that is what I have right now. And still am not writing like I expected I would do, once I retired. Sometimes I just don’t have anything to say.

Take care and God Bless


Last updated February 17, 2016


invisible ink February 17, 2016

Unlike me how tends to post any ol' garbage that comes to mind... ;o)

Deleted user February 17, 2016

I like reading about the comings and goings around your place. I was keeping mirror diaries at ED and PB. Now added allpoetry and bloopdiary. I think I have lost my ever loving mind. :-)

ODSago Deleted user ⋅ February 17, 2016

if so, delightfully lost your mind.

GypsyWynd February 17, 2016

I've kept mirror diaries at different sites ever since OD first starting having problems. Sometimes, I wonder why I bother.....it's not like I have that interesting a life.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm February 17, 2016

me and bloop seem to be a cross purpose. not sure how to work it. so, i'm staying here and probably only here. i write even when i have nothing to say. take care,

ODSago February 17, 2016

You are plenty busy without doing more ... in the beginning of retirement there are fatigue issues you didn't even realize just begging you to slow down.

crystal butterfly February 19, 2016

I hope you don't leave here. I prefer it here. I also cross post on ED but I won't go to Bloopdiary. If PB and/or Ed go under I won't post anywhere.

David does our gardening. He enjoys it.

seafarer February 21, 2016

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.