* A Listing Of Grievances * in Just Stuff

  • Dec. 21, 2013, 11:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Create a list, taking no more than five minutes, of all the persons you have not forgiven for their words and actions that have negatively impacted your life.

If persons who have only done minor things are recalled, that's okay; list them too. this is your chance--get 'em.

After five minutes, consider that the list is finished.

Ask yourself, (If you have to, it is okay to merely pretend that you know the answers to these questions.)

Why did I forget to list certain persons that only NOW come to my mind?

Did I feel guilty while doing this list? If so, why? If not, why not?

Did I not put certain persons on this list who SHOULD have been on it, but I just could not "bring myself to do it?"

Did making this list strongly evoke some of the feelings I have about those persons?

Is there a part of me that is always, subconsciously, "carrying a grudge" or "festering" or "actively rerunning negative memories"--only I "don't know it?"

Is there a relationship between forgiveness and my physical well being?

If I am not on this list, why not? Or, if I am on this list, how can I forgive myself for everything, now, immediately?

What would it feel like to forgive myself? Can I practice at least having that feeling while I am trying to forgive myself?

If I could forgive--completely--all the persons on the list and never again feel or think about their past actions, how would that change my life? If there was a button I could push that would magically accomplish this, would I push it? Should I? Could I?

What IS the way, even if I do not do so, to "push the button?" How much effort would it take? Would it be worth the price? What is it costing me to not push it?

Regards, Rick


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.