Feeling out of place in The Long and Winding Road

  • Aug. 14, 2013, 10:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I just spent some time over on OD and I saw so many diary entry titles that gave me the impression the diarists were writing about leaving OD to come to Prosebox. My thought was.... "I just can't leave here. I am comfortable here. I don't understand how Prosebox works. I am not at peace with having my entries be public (maybe they can be made the equivalent of 'friends only' but if so, I don't know how to do that). I don't like the difficulty of inserting pictures into my entries here."

The thing is, i could hardly navigate the OD site because it is so damn slow. Click on someone's entry and then go do something else while I wait for their page to load. That's unacceptable. So I'm at a bit of a loss. I am not very enthused about writing here, and OD seems to be doing everything it can to discourage me from writing there.

So yeah, I don't know what I'm going to do. To think of not writing, to think of letting go of all of my friendships from OD, is painful. I guess I'm just being resistant to change. I guess I'll figure it out.


simple mind August 14, 2013

Welcome! As the guy who made this site, I'm pushing out new stuff regularly. You can now have Friends Only. You just have to edit your book and change the privacy level. Then all of the entries become Friends Only or whatever you choose.

Anaiss simple mind ⋅ August 15, 2013

Thanks so much for your note. I'm reading so many encouraging things about this site, and I appreciate the effort you've put into it. I am sure I'll be giving it more of a chance now. :)

Leanne 🌈 August 14, 2013

Hi and Welcome once you get your feet wet here it is a cool place to hang out.

Deleted user August 14, 2013

You can set each book to being either members only, public or friends only... so you don't have to be public.

It's not too hard to insert pictures and you get used to putting in the html code for it...

And... you don't necessarily have to lose friendships... cause I'm sure that OD isn't going anywhere.. and if it is.. apparently from what I hear it isn't going anywhere fast... (just a joke..ha ha.. get it... no.. I'm a little stiff tonight)...

But you can probably get new writer type friends also. ... at any rate..

Just.. you can edit your books. and you can have multiples.. it works like chapters did on OD except it's free...

Right now you are public... you can switch that to members only or friends only depending.. and it's super easy.. I'm not good with being able to walk you through it.. but if you find Simple Mind's diary.. he's the site creator and he can and WILL help you with it if you need it if you ask.. I'm sure of it!

Daisy Mae August 14, 2013

It seems a little more complicated here cus we're just not used to it yet, ad it's different. Good different especially the fact that it works! I haven't figured out everything yet but I'll get there. Can't even get onto OD tonight!

Deleted user August 14, 2013

And then I see your comments and see the creator has commented for ya... :)

Sugar Magnolia August 15, 2013

I'm thinking I'll do both. The more "real" entries at OD and the "lite" ones here. If/when I feel more comfortable here and if/when I learn how this place works that could change.

Linda August 15, 2013

I understand what you mean, but OD is just unacceptable. It gets worse and worse. If you give yourself some time and experiment, you'll get more comfortable.

mcbee August 15, 2013

Patience my friend. I know it is hard, especially when OD does everything they can to run us off. I believe this site will continue to improve and improve. Change is good. (From someone who hates change!)

Rick August 15, 2013

Adjusting is difficult; change does not come easily, but change is a part of life, after all. Give it time. Be patient with the site and with yourself. I too have an emotional attachment to OD, but in the long run, even that, strong as it might be, is not enough to keep me there much longer.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.