Friday's events in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • Feb. 13, 2016, 5:58 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Unbelievable yesterday. I had already mentioned in yesterdays entry that I’d ordered a new laptop. Well it was delivered by FedEx before 10 yesterday AM. Awesome, I’d say, since I just ordered it Wednesday!! However, I had decided that since I was so terribly dizzy all morning that I’d better go see my doc again. I was supposed to be there around 11 so I did unpackage the new laptop but that was just to see it and then put it away for after I got back home.

I did get back home around noon and was starving so heated up the home made chicken noodle soup that I’d made earlier in the week and fixed myself a grilled cheese sandwich to go with it. While those items were cooking or warming up, I got the new lap top back out inserted the battery, and plugged it in to get ready to see what I had purchased. It is normal for new computers to take some time to get ready for their first use so I went through those steps while slurping my delicious soup and chowing down on my grilled cheese. My hunger was satisfied so I got down to serious business with the laptop and wanted to see what Facebook would look like on a bigger screen. Well NO. As soon as I hit the enter key to go to FB, bells and warnings started going off and my new laptop had this ginormace warning come up on my screen to tell me my computer had been blocked and to call Microsoft.

OMG!! I wanted to back out and start over, but it would not allow it. Only would ding when when I tried to close the warning screen and the back screen. Panic!!! What to do what to do! Finally feeling as if I had no other choice I called the number that they insisted I call. Well let me tell you folks that call ended up taking the rest of the afternoon and into early evening to get the problem taken care of, not to mention my credit card. For a couple of hours my mind kept thinking this was a scam pre-loaded into my new laptop, but I kept going anyway as I didn’t see another choice. So the tech at the other end was granted permission by me to get access to my old laptop and away he worked. For hours he scanned my laptop and I could watch what he did and where he went from my end. I could see things popping up that didn’t give me a warm fuzzy and figured that was part of the problem. A very long day and a subscription for protection for the next five years and by 6:30 last night I was good. Both computers were scanned and rid of all the nasty things to include the Worm that infected my internet and that was why the new laptop had the reaction it had. He had even taken me to different sights to show me what this worm does and that you get it by various ways and it infects your internet. That is why it shut out my new laptop He wrote notes for me in Notebook and think he put the name of the Worm in them. I’ll have to check and see later.

Anyway, I was transferred to the company that removes all the bad things and there were some questions that I’d had that were answered about why it looked like so many people were using my network. They WERE. How does this even happen? So long story short I am in the process of changing all my passwords and now up to 5 computers and/or smart phones will be protected. I also will cancel my subscription to my virus protection software as I got that protection included in the package I purchased. Funny I thought I had enough protection to stop a frieght train, but the hackers are getting around things and have all the time in world to steal identities. Scary isn’t it?

So this has been an expensive Valentine’s week. lol However, the more I talked to the techs and there were three all together. The Microsoft Tech, the virus/worm/malicious remover, and then lastly the supervisor of the guy that did the removal of both the laptops of the bad stuff. He was very firm about that they would NOT call ME. Only they would call me, if I had called the and they were working on my stuff and had to call me back. To watch for there particular phone number on my caller ID and to not give any of my information out over the phone. He knew that were scammers out there “posing” as them and it was a great concern. I have a customer ID number and I have their phone number. I should be good for 5 years and every 3 mos they will run a check on my computer to insure that nothing new has gotten through to compromise my computers or my information.

The information did say that this “Worm” was infiltrating through several sites such as FB, twitter, gmail, and some other popular sites. AND that if someone came and connected to my WIFI and they had it on their device, then it would infect my internet connection. Oh Lord have mercy. I do not know how I got this but I suspect, that I really didn’t need to buy a new lap top and that this removal will fix this old one up almost as good as new. Too late, as I won’t return the new laptop, but now I’m computer loaded. Live and learn I suppose. I do feel ore secure as I see it protecting my computer in the bottom bar so I must believe it is money well spent to protect my information not to mention my accounts.

Oh the doc gave me more meds to include something for dizziness. The med for the dizziness makes me sleepy so I had a hard time not wanting to take a nap while my computers were being remotely worked on yesterday, but I didn’t.

The new laptop is installing some updates and there are several cause I couldn’t stay up past 8 last night to let it update. It will take awhile so I’m using the old one. I am curious to find out, if the old one stops shutting itself down, now that the worm is gone.

My latest Saga, down on the Farm. Take care and God Bless


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm February 13, 2016

ohmygoodness! what a mess! glad you were able to get it figured out, fixed and protected. take care,

GypsyWynd February 13, 2016

What an ordeal. Glad you got it worked out.

aunty EM February 13, 2016

I think I would have had a major meltdown from this much frustration.

Deleted user February 13, 2016

I have a similar story. In my case I did not buy any products from them but they did let me get into my computer. :-)

middle age pearl Deleted user ⋅ February 13, 2016

I didn't have to, however, I don't have a geek squad or anyone that has the ability to remove a worm like that. I just hope I'm not sorry I went the "extra" mile for the extra protection for the next 5yrs. I don't think I will be, but there is a little doubt left anyway.

Deleted user middle age pearl ⋅ February 13, 2016

Oh no. You did exactly the right thing. There is a program I need to get one way or the other to get rid of the virus they found. The 5 year plan was a perfect thing to get. I just did not want to spend the money at the time. It is on my to do list though. :-)

middle age pearl Deleted user ⋅ February 13, 2016

And wow, while I was reading another diary after I left you the note, I had a warning pop up and tell me something was trying to download to my computer and they recommend I stop it. And I did!! Ok. Feel better now!!

middle age pearl Deleted user ⋅ February 13, 2016

And oh my goodness I hope that stupid worm didn't come from Prosebox. Never gave this sight a thought until just now. Geeze!! No place is safe!

Roseoftexas February 13, 2016

Goodness, that would have drove me more insane than I am now...lol

I'm glad you bought yourself something for Valentines day! ♥

crystal butterfly February 15, 2016

I hope the hackers stay concentrating on Windows products and leave my apple products alone. However I do have some protection that is supported by Apple and use it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.