Friday morning in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • Feb. 12, 2016, 5:41 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, how about that. I didn’t get up until 6 this morning. Of course the reason is because I didn’t go to bed at 8 or 8:30. I didn’t get to bed until after 10 pm which is totally of the norm for me. Yesterday was just totally out of the norm all day, so guess it was true to form to end the same way.

I did get my dishes done up yesterday morning. Geeze. Put some cube steak with mushroom soup and onion in my crockpot. Was hoping cooking the cube steak in the crockpot would make it tender. And it did, however, I probably won’t do that again and wasn’t impressed with results. The meat was fork tender, yet dry, even with the mushroom soup gravy. Being home so much makes me want something really delicious for the evening meal, yet, I can’t seem to actually make anything delicious for the evening meal. At least to my taste buds. Then, when I do eat, 75% of the time I get a bit sick to my stomach feeling. I think it is this infection I’m still battling but it sure is getting old. Still fighting and taking OTC stuff to try and control the mucus and runny nose, but not really sure anything is working like it should or I expect it to. Oh well. Spring is on its way and then my sinus’ will turn into a major waterfall. Can’t wait for that part of Spring.

So after I finished my entry and done a couple things on Wednesday, I surprised myself and ordered a new Laptop. Yeah I know. I really didn’t plan to or expect to, but this laptop is routinely just shutting itself down. No warning, just dies. It has been having that happen for over a year now and it is happening more often now. They had a pretty good sale on 17.3” Acer laptops with DVD burner and I hope everything I need. Anyway, clicked the checkout button after I added the 2 yr warranty to the order and according to the Fed EX tracking number, it is “suppose” to arrive today. I don’t think it will but who knows. If not today it will be here Saturday or Monday. I may end up buying the Microsoft Office programs, but didn’t yet. Also wanted to stick with Windows 7, which the new laptop will have so I’m very hopeful that I will have better speed and connectivity with the new one. About an hour or so after I submitted the order, I couldn’t believe I had ordered myself a new laptop. What in the world is happening to me? In the past, I would have waiting until this one just barely worked before I would have shelled out money for a replacement. Old age and retirement are affecting me more than expected.

So I get a call from my sister yesterday afternoon and her son is running a fever at school and she asked if I could pick up and bring him here. Sure. Why not? So I went to the school and got him and he was’t feeling good but was really wanting to feel better so he could play the Wii. Nope. When you have to come home sick from school, you can’t play games at my house. He really wasn’t feeling great and was content to play with the cars and trucks I keep on the bottom shelf of the entertainment center for the kids. He was very curious about my sewing room, but was very good and didn’t get into anything. He asked if he could sit in one of the chairs and just look around. Sure, I said, you can look all you want, but you just can’t touch or mess with anything. He sat for a good long time, just looking at everything and asking questions. It does take some time and effort to take in all the crap I have in there. lol

Daughter and her crew from work celebrated the salon owners birthday last night, so she asked me to keep O for her while they went out. That was why I didn’t go to bed until after 10. She hadn’t picked him up when I went to bed, but did sometime after I went to sleep.

I’m still sewing. Will take some pictures and post some of these days. I “practiced” yesterday quilting a piece and then putting on the binding. It is a small piece and can be a changing pad or a mattress pad. I know why I make things that don’t require binding. I did do better yesterday so not giving up yet.

Snow is back in our forecast for the weekend. Not sure much, but the temps will be in the single digits so it will be a good weekend to stay inside.

Have a great weekend and God Bless!


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm February 12, 2016

i love windows 7. don't know if i would like windows 10 or not. i've got a dell laptop that's kinda old... probably 5 years or so. still works great after the motherboard was replaced. i'm happy for now. i also have a desktop that has parts from a very old desktop that was given to me over 9 years ago... the monitor is that old. the keyboard is new, the tower itself is from the school district here that a friend got and set up for me. it works great too. about all blake could do when he came home sick was watch tv, read to himself or let me read to him. he usually let me hold him in my lap, rock him and read to him. take care,

Deleted user February 12, 2016

Had no idea my new laptop came with Windows 10. There is a way to install Windows 7 again. 'sigh' Windows 10 is awful. :-)

aunty EM February 12, 2016

I made the mistake of down loading Windows 10 and my laptop died as a result. Couldn't delete 10. Had to take it to the Geeks and the only way they could get it off was to completely wipe the hard drive... Then they reloaded Windows 7 and it has taken me and Papa weeks to restore and rebuild my programs... It's working pretty good now, knock on wood. I don't want to buy a new computer!

static February 12, 2016

I have my hard drive partitioned to 2 sections. One is for Windows 8.1 and the other is for Linux. I rarely use the Windows section. Linux is easy to get used to. My son told me a few years ago that I would love Linux as the operating system. I dragged my feet of course. But....after just a few days I loved Linux. I use it 98% of the time.

crystal butterfly February 15, 2016

I gave up on cube steak a few years ago. Because, as you said, no matter what I did to it the meat was always dry. My hubby calls cube steaks "grisliness".

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.