February 10, 2016. Oh Dear! in February 2016

  • Feb. 11, 2016, 6:14 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Guess what! I am having a diarrhea day. You can all guess how pleased I am about that. I called Judy and asked her could she come tomorrow instead of today, basically because I am hanging about in pajamas, visiting the bathroom a lot, eating toast and drinking water. She asked me did I need any help and I said I didn’t because it was improving and she said she was able to come tomorrow. So, about 20 minutes later, Jake called me and asked was I really OK! Apparently Judy had called him and said she was a bit worried about me. I told him I was fine and dealing with diarrhea. He said he wasn’t worried because he knows I can cope with this but he was just calling to be sure I was able to deal with it.

Now, it was very nice of Judy to do this but I am torn between appreciating that she did this and being a bit, well, almost a lot, annoyed that she did this! She has a tendency to treat me as if I am slightly not quite all there at times. I am not stupid. I am just old. The two words are not interchangeable! Jake is totally understanding that if I felt I couldn’t cope and I needed help, I would ask for it. Judy thinks I underestimate my “fragility” {which is what doctors tend to assume about older people} and that I don’t ask for help when I need it. Anyway, I will say nothing about this when she comes here tomorrow. As Auntie Babs used to say, “Her heart is in the right place.”

I have taken appropriate medication and am still in my pajamas. Everything that should be slowing down is slowing down so that is good.


Last updated February 11, 2016


^..^Kat February 11, 2016

I understand your mixed feelings, but try to look at it as her just caring about you and being nice. I hope you are back to normal quickly.

stargazing February 11, 2016

I agree...try to look at it as she just cares about you. I can only hope that when I'm your age, there will be someone who cares about me. I won't have kids to check in on me. :)

~Harmonie~ February 11, 2016

I got out early this morning and came home sick with the same problem as well as sinus issues so it was back in my jammies as well. I agree, her heart was in the right place...;) Here's hoping tomorrow is a better day for you. Hugs,M

Deleted user February 11, 2016

We definitely need to respect elders better in this society. Her heart was in the right place but it was rude to call your son without clearing it with you first .

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm February 11, 2016

although her heart was/is in the right place, i think she should have waited til at least tomorrow to see how you are doing before she called your son. glad you are feeling better. take care,

middle age pearl February 11, 2016

She apparently has the need to take charge, but sometimes that can be a good thing. I think we poo poo our aches, pains, and just not feeling good so maybe there was something you said or the tone of your voice that made her more concerned than usual. It is a good thing to have someone care, even if they occasionally push the envelope.

Jane Says February 12, 2016

It's sweet that she cares, even if she's annoying you in the process :) I think some people just have a hard time knowing the "right" thing to say or do when it comes to older people, who are just...old, not a different species for Pete's sake! :) I used to say the saltiest things to my Ma-ma and my dad and get the strangest looks from other people. Ha!

HappyMusician February 12, 2016

I hope you feel better today.

raeven February 12, 2016

Your ability to practice self care is so, very evident. I'm so sorry you are still dealing with the freaken diarrhea..

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.