Wednesday AM in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • Feb. 10, 2016, 6:04 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It is about 7:35 am and this was J’s early day to catch the bus. The bus arrives at 5:51 to pick him up and try as I might, I cannot get him to wear an extra coat on cold mornings such as this one. *sigh It was 17 degrees this morning when he went out the door. I console myself as a less than mom, because he does have heavier coats hanging in the laundry room. All easy to get to and clean. Possibly if it gets below 0 he will add another coat to the hoodie he wear. I can force it, but then it more than likely get left on the bus or at work. Hohum!

So yesterday, I forced myself to go to the bank to deposit some money and then to Walmart to stock back up on Allergy Meds, Musinex for the crap still in my lungs, etc. The total bill at check out was over $190.00. Gawd!! The OTC meds are so expensive. AND since they are available OTC my insurance won’t honor a prescription for them. Dirt bags.

I also bought several spools of thread and 2 pieces of solid fabric. I have so many more prints and not enough coordinating solids. My bad. The latest baby quilt will be a quilt as you go quilt and I’ve used some Winnie the Pooh fabric for the main fabric. Not sure how big it will end up finishing out, but bigger than I have right now. It has been a long time since I’ve done a quilt as you go quilt so found a tute on You Tube. Finally found the one I want to use and have it bookmarked. I really need to get better at adding the binding and so I plan to practice today even though the binding step isn’t close yet.

Oh and I LOVE my little table. The table that took me a time or two to realize I could make it a bit taller. It isn’t as big/tall as a regular table, but is perfect for me to sit next to me and last night I even used it to iron the pieces. WooHoo. I’m getting so lazy as now I won’t have to even get up to use the ironing board. I still do most of the cutting of fabric on my kitchen table since it is bigger, so I’m still getting off my butt to do that. Wonder how my body will react when it warms up and I head outside. Bet my body gets sooo mad at me. lol

Doing dishes sucks by the way when you’re sewing. Not doing great at keeping up and how on earth do I dirty up so many dishes? Not sure, but I do and not doing great at cleaning either. My obsessions are ruling at the moment but I’m gonna let them for another week or so and then get back into other tasks. Well, at least that is the plan right now.

Started a diary on BloopDiary yesterday. I have no intentions of leaving PB, but was curious to see what BloopDiary was all about. The link is: http://www.bloopdiary.com/ and I did have issues creating my diary, but with some assistance I finally figured it out. angellee on BloopDiary, aka Minnie58 on PB and ED. Thanks again Sandra!! angellee has posted several helpful entries on BloopDiary so if you are interested in setting a diary up there, she also has some helpful information on ED.

I fixed me some breakfast so will end this and eat and then start some laundry and head to the sewing room.

Take care and God Bless


aunty EM February 10, 2016

I sometimes use whichever passion I'm into as a reward for getting the dishes (or whatever chore needs doing) done. Then enjoy the prize that much more. :)

crystal butterfly February 11, 2016

I have no plans to start another diary again. If I lose some diarists to BloopDiary, so be it.

Deleted user February 11, 2016

Aren't the "problem" that crop up during retirement just the best? You can so easily do things manana. Or sooner, or later. :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.