The "lawn." in (W)hole

  • Feb. 9, 2016, 8 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s been warm here all week, which means the snow is mostly gone, and the yard is visible. The “yard” has been reduced to nothing but mud, because dogs. Not only do both of our labs dig, they run hard through the yard, and when it’s wet and mushy, that just tears it right up. The grass was all brown and dead when we moved here, and there wasn’t much season left to try to resuscitate it, so I figured we would just re-seed in the spring…

However, I’m not going to live here past August 20th, when my lease is up. So now I can’t decide whether it’s worth it to me to buy fertilizer and grass seed and rope off the yard areas and invest in watering a few times a day, etc etc… The grass was all dead to begin with, so I’m not sure if she can say WE ruined it… She also doesn’t live here, she’s in Colorado, so I don’t know if she would even know that the lawn is wrecked… but it is.

I feel sort of responsible for it, so I sort of want to fix it… but it’s going to be expensive, I reckon. Plus it’ll be a huge pain to keep the dogs and kids off of it long enough to let it grow in. It’ not a very large yard, so it won’t take up a lot of materials (soil, seed, fertilizer, etc…) but still. I’m sure once all the snow is gone, SOME of the grass will remain, but I’m realllllly not sure how much :\

The yard also has a lot of “flower beds” that are only there in theory, and filled with mulch.. they’re really just sectioned off portions of the yard around the house and big rings in the middle of each side that are closed in by cinder blocks. They aren’t anchored down in any way, though, so the dogs tend to knock them over and Mochi gets her line under some of the blocks and knocks them over and drags them around. So the cinder blocks are sort of scattered everywhere. Also, our sidewalk is caked in mud. It’s broken and uneven and it has pooled up loose dirt and mud and melted snow.

So. I don’t know. Should we reseed it when Real Spring hits?

In other news- GOD I can’t wait to go back to Fairbanks this summer. We are going to eat at: Pagoda, Silver Gulch, Food Factory, Cookie Jar, Hokulia (shave ice!!!!!!!!), Sam’s Club pizza, Lemongrass Thai food, Hot Licks home made Alaskan ice cream, omg omg.. so many good things. I’m SO EXCITED.

Heather and I are also going to do some serious float tubing and laze about on the lake at Chena Lakes. I CANT WAIT! We also want to go out to the Tanana Lakes project and float around there, but that’s new so it’s been more popular lately and we hate other people. lol…

I’m also going to frequent Kimba, who enjoys some extra curricular activities that I also enjoy, and bum it around her place most days while Heather is at work and I have nothing else to do. I’m going to sleep SO MUCH, though. I don’t anticipate getting out of bed before noon any day. MUAHAHAA!

AND, I’ll be in town for my favorite graduate (she was one of my “teenagers” back in the day, but now she’s a grown up!) ‘s 21st birthday! Im SO EXCITED! <3

Local News: I just started my small group tutoring at work, which has been going pretty well. My 5th graders are being COMPLETE monsters, though. Like, I don’t even know why I TRY to do anything academic with them, because they are NOT listening. Extremely annoying.

I’m waiting on “child support” from Ross, which he sent in the form of CASH through the mail, which is the stupidest thing you can do… and it’s been like 5 days now and it hasn’t shown up. It’s only going from Montana to Idaho, it shouldn’t take a week. I could REALLY use the money, we have no dog food and the only reason the kids have food is because a friend of mine gave us a $30 WalMart gift card and I used it to buy groceries to get us through the week. I haven’t gotten child support from Corey (for Kasin) since before Xmas, and then his mom told me that he is working in a new city/new job site for the first time in over a year, so I bet that’s why.. child support hasn’t caught up with his new job yet. Ugh. I was REALLY starting to rely on that piddly $60/week.

My refund should be in my account by the end of the week, though. The IRS website says it will be direct deposited on the 10th, which is tomorrow. The bank could take up to 5 days to process it and post it to my account, but they’re usually REALLY good about deposits… I get direct deposit from work, and they deposit it a day EARLY. I don’t know how that works, but I’ve talked to people at work and they say theirs doesn’t post a day before payday like mine does, so it’s definitely my bank that’s responsible. I’ve been checking my balance all day today, but I’m still poor. :( lol

Hopefully tomorrow. <3

My first Master’s class is almost finished- HURRAH! :) So far I have like 297.5/300 pts. :D A+ for MEEEEEEEEE!


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.