Not an obituary in 2016

  • Feb. 9, 2016, 10:41 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This month I am being paid back at my old grade (lower than my previous one) because my secondment has ended. It means that my job description is now basic research support with significant supervision, no autonomy, all of that sort of stuff.

Except, it doesn’t work like that, and the work still needs doing, and my boss is still only here 3 days a week maximum, and he still shirks decision making. So, I’ll manage the final production of the 100,000 word report, and decide author contributions and acknowledgements and negotiate the minefield of that. I have already had 17 emails relating to it this morning. Its 10.30. One of them was almost as long as the report, detailing all the reasons why she should be third author (not third last.....) and you know, some of them I agree with, that’s fine. But this isn’t an exhaustive list of what every single on of us did, she hasn’t been singled out, we all have just a brief description of our contributions because it’s just to justify our presence on the author list, now to acknowledge everything we did! I want to reply saying “BITCH PLEASE it’s an acknowledgements list, not an obituary. Nobody wants your fucking life story.”

I probably won’t though.


Dictynna February 09, 2016

Doesn't seem fair that you have to still do all that work for way less pay!

Good luck dealing with all the bitches!

history of love February 09, 2016

Stupid universities and their budgets. I totally agree with Dictynna, why should you be doing the same work for less pay, just because your secondment ended? :(

OMG, if you ever leave, never to go back, please write your not an obit!! that is the best thing I've read for ages :)
x

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.