Dallas Atkins Roundhouse General Foreman BN 23rd Street Denver, CO in Tales of the Jointed Track

  • Feb. 11, 2016, 12:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Things break, and on the railroad it does. I got called after a railroad strike for an Extra North out of Pueblo, CO. We were out for 3 days, and the President, who doesn’t care about affiliation, signed in a cooling off period. We dead headed down, and on arrival, our marching orders. Grab this power, and this power, up Yard 11, double yard 7 to yard 10. We have the train orders, the Conductor has the rear man walking the Yard 10 to verify. Yeah the train list will be verified. We have five units, 35 loads.. 60 empties 95 cars 4700 tons.

I have them all “on-line” and we’ll do well. Double over air test, with the Carman, and blessings to leave Pueblo Yard.

Between Academy siding and Monument siding on the single track, an alarm bell, okay a unit has shut down. We are on a flashing yellow, at MP 60.4, so we are making a meet at Monument. I have the horsepower, so if this is down, I’ll still be able to make the grade to the top.

Monument Siding:
We are lined into the siding. The steady drone of the alarm bell, well I am ready to shut it off. I had a new hire brakeman, he wouldn’t know. I will take him back with me, for little indoctrination class. :)

The train we are meeting is not here. So upon inspection, the air compressor had broken loose, and cracked a Pedestal base bolt. This holds down the compressor, to the locomotive. This, again, loosened or compromised, the other hold down bolts, it broke free, rotated, and broke the water cooling line. So it siphoned water out of the breach. I made a tag, and took pliers, and crimped off the air lines, and drained the unit.

We made the hill, down the grade, yarded the train, and to the roundhouse. I was told what track to take the power to. I told the foreman, I tagged this SD-40-2, and what was wrong. I even tagged the areas, of concern, and that the compressor had broken loose. “Thanks for telling us”

Dave Rieter Lead-man:

Dave says to the foreman. This is sabotage and a problem. Yeah Like I don’t have anything better to do. This goes to Dallas Atkins the General Foreman, and now to my Road Foreman and Division Trainmaster.

I am going to be out on rest. I am in bed, the phone rings, Terry Reardon Asst Division Trainmaster. Ten Minutes after the Road Foreman. The usual inquiry, who, what, when, where, why. Save me Jesus. I relate what occurred and the correction of the problems, plus the roundhouse was told as well. We’ll take it from here. I am pissed, yeah more than Pissed. I have Dave Rieter and Dallas Atkins in my sights. I am gonna bore into ‘em big time.

I lit into Dave big time. “You stupid asshole really!!. This broke loose, and I troubleshooted the problem. Now sabotage, and my ass is hanging out on circumstantial evidence. Be ready, I’m gonna fry your asses in the investigation”.
Stammering, later for that. “Bastards, I let you know when yer BN units lay down, not like your BN crews”. He knew I was pissed and didn’t have a leg to stand on.

I related to a Machinist, now Roundhouse Foreman Charlie Berg. I worked with Charlie in the shops. I told Charlie, and related the facts. He said yeah, I saw it, it broke loose don’t sweat it. I told him when I see Dallas, I am gonna let him have it. Go for it Kid… LOL He knew I meant business.

Denver 23td St Roundhouse Helper Trip 1000 am

I pull into the parking lot at the roundhouse. I have the helper grip and ready to look for a Foreman for the assignment. GOAL TARGET SIGHTED… Charlie Berg is talking to Dallas Atkins. I politely walk up and say, “Excuse me, but when you both are finished, I need to speak with Mr. Atkins. I step away. Charlie says, “Don’t worry Kid, I am done”. He knew I was gonna unload on Dallas.

I told Dallas I didn’t like getting set up, for something I did not cause. He said, “Well there was a strike,and this occurred”. “Well Dallas, the Santa Fe Special Agents (railroad police) were there 24/7, and an agent who was at the fuel tracks in Pueblo all that time”. “We didn’t know”. “I am gonna tell ya this I don’t appreciate getting set up for this. Let’s see Dallas, those compressor hold down bolts are at 1500 lbs ft pounds?? And how the Hell am I gonna break that with these stupid wrench’s you supply in the cab? A dumb look and no answer. “I am ready Mr Atkins for an investigation, I’ll let my Local Chairman know, and the Santa Fe, bring it on”. He storms off. Yeah he turned me in. LOL I was asked to let the division handle this.

Yeah it was component failure. I saw Mr. Atkins in 2005 when I was working the local. He was an FRA ( FEDERAL RAILROAD ADMINISTRATION ) Inspector. We glared at each other…LOL


ChallengerSeven February 11, 2016

I've been fortunate that the FRA inspectors I've met and dealt with have been reasonable people. But then, there always the other side of the coin!

(Have I already asked if you're writing a book? I'd buy a copy for sure! :-) )

MageB February 13, 2016

Great entry....thanks.
And I thought you might like this newsreel. :)

http://cruiselinehistory.com/1952-blizzard-snared-the-streamliner-city-of-san-francisco-a-train-in-its-frigid-grip/

Brakeshoe Bob MageB ⋅ February 14, 2016

That was great thanks for sharing that

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.