GnR in Prosebox Desert Island Discs

  • Feb. 6, 2016, 11:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I love Guns N Roses - all thru my teenage years they were the soundtrack to my life. I had a life size poster of Axl on my bedroom wall. My fish were called Axl and Duff. I had every album, every video, every book.

It is still excellent music and Patience and Used To Love Her still feature on my ipod.

So the news that they are coming back on tour is awesome. AgentX for some sort of nostalgic reason is seeing them in Manchester and I’m going to the Scottish shows. Yay for having a music promoter boyfriend - he can actually get tickets!

It’s especially awesome because my mother for spurious and pointless reasons grounded me when I got tickets to their Milton Keynes Superbowl show on the Use Your Illusions tour. Seriously… This was the only time I’ve ever asked her permission to go to a show - and she said yes initially then ummed about it then made up an excuse why i couldn’t go. I had the bloody tickets - I’d sorted a lift. I was going with a big group of friends. I honestly do not know what her problem was.... actually I do - she was probably reading the Daily Mail again and thought my brain would be infected by the death metal bug or worshipping Satan or something. She had a similar reaction to dance music being played in our house - apparently it makes you take drugs. Sigh.

It’s the first and last time i ever asked her and ever since then I’ve just gone without bothering to ask. Actually my dad is very cool about my teenage music obsession… i seem to recall him coming to a gig I was managing at King Tuts and buying everyone in the bar a drink. I still get asked when my dad is coming back in 20 odd years later.

Due to the very unfair grounding he also let me skive off school to see Bon Jovi and even sorted me some press passes a while after that… mum didn’t speak to him for about 3 weeks after that.

Weirdly I have met Slash before - I went into the wrong studio for a band rehearsal and he was auditioning a guitarist for Slash’s Snakepit. He was kinda confused and thought I was there for the audition so god knows who he thought I was. He was really nice though.

My pal is also one of the original LA crew who helped them get their careers in gear so she regales me with debauched tales of drunken antics if I ask her nicely. It’s very funny. As a band of essentially teenagers, i guess you just do whatever you can get away with. I wonder if being on the road as 50 year olds is much different?

AgentX quite often does older bands and they change the safety briefing before shows to take account of heart attacks and strokes instead of drug overdoses… and put teleprompters up so they remember the lyrics!


greyponygirl February 06, 2016

I love them too. I saw them at Monsters of Rock in 1988 - because I am very very old. I am literally just about to start watching the BBC doc on them x

Camdengirl greyponygirl ⋅ February 07, 2016

Oh I'm bowing down to your fabulous coolness (as always!). I watched it last night - interesting viewing.

Deleted user February 07, 2016

Loved them all during my teen years as well! I saw them with Faith No More and someone else waaaaay back there. I feel so old now, LOL!!

Herzog February 07, 2016

It's a bit depressing to sometimes see an older band fumble through their own lyrics and barre chords. I'm a bit careful with the nostalgia acts, and usually check to see if they've toured (or even played) regularly over the last few years. Sad memories of seeing Jason Pierce of Spacemen 3 unable to stand on stage due to various drug-induced illnesses and Mercury Rev (one of my favourite bands from the late 90s and still great live) play in front of a paltry 50 at some miniscule venue.

Camdengirl Herzog ⋅ February 07, 2016

I know what you mean... It is why I've never attempted to see the new line up - it isn't the same.

Domino February 07, 2016

Poor old Meatloaf definitely needed his angina medicine during his last gig in Scotland.

Are tickets on sale yet?

Camdengirl Domino ⋅ February 07, 2016

Nope - I'm not sure if the gigs have been announced yet. AgentX just got told about them by one of the promoters. Unfortunately it isn't one of his gigs - how cool would that be??! (Actually it wouldn't because they would be bound to go on really late and cause massive late fees from the venue and probably lose a ton of money!)

Etoile Filante February 07, 2016

Oooooh how exciting!!! xXx

Deleted user February 09, 2016

That's really exciting. Bit depressing hearing about older acts forgetting their lines though :-(

Complicated Disaster February 09, 2016

If only Axl could develop some respect for his fans and come on stage on time!! Xx

Camdengirl Complicated Disaster ⋅ February 09, 2016

Well that's never going to happen...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.