February 4 2016 Applesauce in the IP in February 2016

  • Feb. 4, 2016, 1:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

All over the Instant Pot Community on Facebook, people have been posting pictures of their applesauce made in the Instant Pot. {They have also been posting pictures of their cheesecake made in the instant pot but that doesn’t make me want to make one since I don’t like cheesecake very much. It is far too sweet!}

So, since I got a small bag of apples last time I went food shopping and got about ten medium size apples, I decided to do this. I don’t know what kind they were but to me, they were just a little sharp, not as sharp as the green Granny Smiths, but not what I called sweet. So, I decided not to peel them since I intended to use my insertion blender when they were done, but I did core them and chopped them into smaller pieces. I also shook some cinnamon over the pieces before the IP was turned on. The recipe said use a cup of apple juice but since I had no apple juice, I used water and added a scant cup. I added a biggish pinch of brown sugar, closed the lid and set the IP for “manual” and 10 minutes which is what the recipe said.

I let the IP do a natural release which means there was no hiss of steam. I intended to let it release the steam for ten minutes but I got sidetracked and it was over 30 minutes when I went to check on it. It was still very hot when I lifted the inner lining out and used my immersion blender in the pot set on slow. Although it was hot, I sampled a small amount and it was delicious!

Next time I make it, I will get apple juice for the liquid. {I did have orange juice and it might be an interesting flavor if I try that next time.} Also, a big pinch of brown sugar is slightly too much for me. Depending on the apples, I may add no sugar at all. As I usually do the first time I make something, I followed the recipe but next time I will reduce the time, maybe to 8 minutes and use the blender a little less since I like chunky apple sauce.

Now I am off to put the apple sauce into a couple of containers and into the refrigerator and then write notes in my book to remind me what I want to do next time. Humm, I wonder how it will freeze? Anyone know?


Amelie's Twin February 04, 2016

Applesauce freezes very well! We used to make it at my grandfather's house, tons and tons of it, and he would put it in margarine tubs to freeze. But I'm sure any plastic container would work. :)

~Harmonie~ February 04, 2016

Applesauce does very well in the freezer! My sister and I do it every year. There is nothing like homemade applesauce on toast or biscuits!! Yummy!! Hugs,M

stargazing February 04, 2016

My grandmother used to always freeze apple sauce. It will work well.

patrisha stargazing ⋅ February 04, 2016

Good. Jake said he'd like to try it so I want to freeze some for him. Actually, since it is somewhat too sweet for me, I will probably freeze most of it...

Deleted user February 04, 2016

Yum..

middle age pearl February 05, 2016

Catching up on your entries. This made me want to make Apple Butter instead of applesauce.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.