February 4, 2016 Miscellaneous Stuff in February 2016

  • Feb. 4, 2016, 10:03 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I ate a very strange collection of food yesterday. Well, the food itself was fine. I just find it a bit strange to be eating oatmeal at the time I usually eat a proper meal! Yesterday I decided I would have bacon for breakfast because I had some thick cut bacon in the refrigerator that needed to be eaten. I made myself two bacon sandwiches which I thoroughly enjoyed. At lunch time, I decided that since the breakfast ones were so good, I would have one for lunch which would finish out the bacon! So when it came to the time when I usually pull out the Instant Pot and cook a meal, I decided instead to make steel cut oatmeal. I made a big bowl full and ate half of it last night and the rest this morning!

My big job for today is sorting out all the piles of stuff on my desk. You may be wondering why I call this a “big” job. Well, this is the only place I won’t let Judy tidy up! Right from the beginning I have told her she is welcome to tidy my piles of “stuff” but I asked her not to put them away for me and please don’t tidy anything on my desk! I have a pile of cookbooks on the table beside the couch because I read cookbooks the same way as I read fiction! {Well, actually, I read fiction on the Kindle so not the same way, but you get the idea} Every so often she asks if she can put the cookbooks back in the bookshelf but the answer is still,”Not yet!” The day will come when I am tired of this pile and they will go back into the bookcase, but that day isn’t here yet. And talking about books, I went over to Staples yesterday morning and picked up the two pressure cooking books with their new spiral binding, and they are excellent!

Yesterday just as Judy was getting ready to go home, the sky opened and the rain that had been threatening all day swooped down on us so when it was time to leave, I gave her a ride home. {She lives in the same apartment complex as I do.} On the way back, I passed the trash drop off and there was a pickup there with a couple of guys unloading a mattress. Now, we are not supposed to put things like that there. We, the residents, have been asked to try to get the license number of anyone we see doing this but I have mixed feelings about this. However, I did park across from where they were and sat watching them. Obviously, they saw me because they reloaded the mattress into the pickup and drove out onto the road which meant they weren’t even from the complex! Mind you, it wouldn’t surprise me if they came back into the complex by the other entrance and dropped the mattress off at the other trash dumpster site!

OK, things for today.
1. Laundry. This mostly means sheets. I usually wait until I have at least two sets of sheets and pillowcases to wash.

  1. I may start on reorganizing the freezer. I have some small freezer baskets on order from Amazon which are supposed to come in today so I may decide to wait until these arrive. They are scheduled to come today but I don’t know when.

  2. Read! I can do this while the clever machines are doing their thing on the sheets, which makes me happy because I am doing what I like to do–read, and still getting things done!

There was just a knock at the door and I thought maybe it was an Amazon delivery but it was actually someone from the complex’s crew coming to take down the bathroom vent cover! Judy called yesterday because she couldn’t get it off to clean it. He got it down and took it away to clean it out.

I have just realized I am still in my pajamas!


^..^Kat February 04, 2016

I would love to still be in my PJ's. I slept terribly last night and am now feeling quite zombiefied. I like that you eat what you want, no matter the time.

patrisha ^..^Kat ⋅ February 04, 2016

That ability is one of the perks of being retired!

HappyMusician February 04, 2016

I like bacon but I don't have it often.

Deleted user February 04, 2016

I must be hungry. The bacon got me thinking !

patrisha Deleted user ⋅ February 04, 2016

Sometimes Fred and I got this urge for bacon and he would cook a huge amount. He would leave it out in the kitchen and eat it all day! LOL

Deleted user patrisha ⋅ February 04, 2016

That actually sounds good !

~Harmonie~ February 04, 2016

Some days I just have pajama days....and I like them! LOL Hugs,M

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.