The State of D76 in Everything Else

  • Feb. 1, 2016, 7:55 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I took a little break from writing in January. I didn’t intend to do it, it just sort of happened. I think there were a couple of times I began to write and then bagged it. I spent some time over the last week really thinking about things and analyzing some stuff. I get into these funks from time to time and this is one of those times. I just don’t really feel anything. Everything just exists and I smile and wade through the day. I can’t even talk or write about it because it is like there is nothing there. So I guess I decided to write about the nothingness as a way to work my way through this episode.

I did decide to stop making lists. Not my general to do things, but the BIG LISTS of stuff that I feel I must do but really have zero meaning in the grand scheme of things. It takes time away from the stuff I want to do, the stuff that makes me happy. So as of today, I am deleting my “Master To Do List”. I plan on trying to just tackle one to three things per day and see how it goes. That is my plan for February. I want to see what I can really get done and try to find a way to be happier and feel better about what I am doing.

I managed to read one book in January. I started another but I could not get into it enough to finish and last week I made the mistake of downloading a game on the iPad and wasted so much time on it. I finally deleted it yesterday. This is the third time I have done that with this particular game. I am not even going to get into how much money I spent on in-app purchases. It is insane!

I went lax on watching shows in January, which doesn’t make a lot of sense since that is when they finally came back and I was excited about that. I am finally ready to watch them. I am working my way through this week in hopes of being caught up by Sunday! Today I am catching up on the CW’s DC Universe of shows. Thank god for dual screens right?!? I think I actually get more work done when I have something to listen/watch.

My work goal for February is to clear out the unnecessary clutter & paper! I have a lot of crap that I don’t need and I am determined to get rid of all of it. I plan on scanning anything I think I might need in the future and then I will shred it. With one of my facilities closing, I have a lot of billing information I don’t think I will be needing, so scanned, and shredded. It will free up some space and I will be able to be more streamlined. I won’t lie, I am not that upset about getting rid of the federal headache that facility has been the last five years. It sucks that we are closing, but from a billing standpoint, it is a godsend for me. Fed billing used to be the easiest, the one with zero obstacles. Five years ago it became a bureaucratic nightmare. There were months where the literally changed reporting requirements on a weekly basis. We are finally seeing some payments coming through that are over nine months due! We still have a fight to capture our contract guarantee, but at least we have a contact who sounds very competent and is in agreement with our understanding of the contract.

Still have not heard much from my supposed BFF. I have made a vow to myself to not reach out. She knows where I am and how to get ahold of me. And that is pretty much the state of things right now.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.