February 1, 2016 Repotting House Plants. in February 2016

  • Feb. 1, 2016, 11:24 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I went to bed last night quite convinced that when I woke up it would be Tuesday! Since it is, of course, Monday, I have gained a day is my thinking!

It was a lovely warm day yesterday so I decided FINALLY to repot the plant I have been talking about moving for so long! I moved the container and the bag of potting soil that Jake brought over out or the living room onto the patio. The container was very light; the soil wasn’t. I already had about a third of a bag of soil from last year in the little area where the hot water tank is so I dragged that out and had a look at the pot. It had holes in the bottom for drainage but I have nothing big enough to put under it so I put in a lot of stones which partially blocked the holes and also ensured that the water wouldn’t run out too soon.

I put the half bag of potting soil in the pot but, of course, it wasn’t enough. No problem because I didn’t expect it to be. At this point, I realized that (a) the bag was too heavy for me to lift and keep control of the amount of soil coming out, and (b) the last thing Judy had said before she left last Wednesday was to give her a call if I needed help repotting! So, I did! She came over and between us we repotted the big plant–I have no idea what it is– and also moved the Christmas cactus into a slightly bigger pot.

The big plant was really pot-bound. I can imagine it taking a huge sigh of relief as it realizes it had more room! Anyway, I watered both pots with a little plant food in the water and, so far, they are looking happy. At the moment, I have the bigger plant on a stand that is too high for it and it looks silly! I think I may have a plate big enough to put it on so water doesn’t run all over the carpet. Eventually I am going to get something on wheels so it will be on the floor–well, carpet, but easily moveable.

Ok, time to clean up the kitchen, pur out thechicken thighs I am going to cook this evening to defrost in the refrigerator and finish folding and putting away laundry. It is almost 70 degrees her!


Deleted user February 01, 2016

Wonderful! Your plants thank- you !

AppleGirl February 01, 2016

Ahhh, wish it were 70 here...

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm February 01, 2016

sure would love 70 degrees! today must be the day to repot plants. angela did, i am going to and blake did. those bags of potting soil are heavy. have to buy the smaller ones so i can carry them. outside bags of top soil... i can lift and carry the .75 cubic foot but, the 1.00 cubic foot bags... nope too heavy for me. i need to check to see if any of my other plants need repotting. take care,

~Harmonie~ February 01, 2016

70 sounds nice! We've had in the 50s which is great for here this time of the year but I would much rather have your temps! :) Glad you got your plants repotted! Hugs,M

middle age pearl February 02, 2016

Our warm temps have dropped and rain showers have arrived. Bet your plants did breath a sigh of relief. Sometimes after re-potting it takes them several breaths to gain their bearings. Bet they both grow like crazy when they settle.

^..^Kat February 02, 2016

I'm glad you called Judy and you both got your plant done. I'm sure it's much happier now.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.