Deeeeeep Breath in All Aboard the Tinsel Train!

  • Jan. 31, 2016, 7:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s getting a little more difficult. As much as I want to keep my length - I don’t see being able to survive the transformation. It is killing me. I am waaay open to suggestions.

alt text


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm January 31, 2016

what about a rinse in color that washes out over time? take care, ps. i love your eyes. take care,

MJ's Page Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ January 31, 2016

I wondered about that. What is the difference between semi-permanent color and a rinse?

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm MJ's Page ⋅ February 01, 2016

I don't know. I got my hair colored one time with a rinse or maybe it was a semi permanent color. it covered up my gray with a nice color that matched my hair color. as I washed my hair it faded out and eventually I was back to normal. I would guess you could use it til you saw that the gray had grown out. take care

MJ's Page Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ January 31, 2016

Thanks, btw. My eyes were hazel until about a year ago. One morning I woke up, and they were green. I have no clue what THAT'S all about, but there you have it. Weird, yeah?

Deleted user January 31, 2016

I am hopeless with hair :-(

FitLadyDi January 31, 2016

My hair lady said use a highlight cap with the hair color of your roots to ease the transition. ..

MJ's Page FitLadyDi ⋅ January 31, 2016

my roots are currently silver and white. The rest of my hair is brown/black from a box. My natural hair color was almost black.
I trusted one woman who said "Oh sure - I can put white highlights in your hair to help the transition". The results were abysmal.

Those lightened streaks stretched and broke upon combing. I now wash my hair with Shikakai, and use a diluted Neutral Protein Filler as a conditioner.

My hair is getting better.

aaaaaaand....I'm rambling.

ODSago January 31, 2016

Interested in the products you mentioned. Can you explain what each does. My hair is a lot like you explain my ours to be, but totally natural for several years.

MJ's Page ODSago ⋅ February 02, 2016

Shikakai comes from a bush in India - ground into a powder. Add water (very liquids but gritty). It cleans the scalp without drying out the oils necessary for hair health. I can go longer between washes with the stuff, and hair/scalp not so stinky.

The Protein I got from Sally's(beauty supply store). It is usually used in conjunction with coloring hair. But I'm using off-label. I started it because the processes used to ATTEMPT those white streaks KILLED my hair. Dried it out. This protein seems have healed my hair.

ODSago MJ's Page ⋅ February 02, 2016

Thanks so much, and there is a Sally's nearby actually. My scalp is so very dry...never was before. I don't use any color on my hair now and yet...this dry scalp. Drives me crazy.

MJ's Page ODSago ⋅ February 03, 2016

With the protein, I did the 2oz soak on my hair for 20 minutes. Then I rinsed out.
Since then, I've put 1oz in a tiny squirt bottle, and use it as a leave in conditioner.

ODSago MJ's Page ⋅ February 03, 2016

Thanks...

ODSago January 31, 2016

Not my ours but rather yours.

Noodlebugs! February 01, 2016

To answer a question: a rinse does not chemically change the hair, it merely coats the hair shaft, like putting on a shirt. It generally washes out very quickly, like 1-3 washes. Semi permanent does change the hair strand chemically by lifting the scale like outer layer and depositing color into those open spaces. (think if you run your hands backwards on fur or carpet nap, and there are now air spaces.) It takes a bit longer for this to wash out, and that time depends on the color, the brand, and the hair that is recieving it. Permanant color does one step further. It opens the hair follicle, removes the existing natural hair pigment, and deposits chemical hair color molecules into the hair shaft and then attempts to close those scales back down again. HTH.

middle age pearl February 01, 2016

The color type you decide to try (if you do) will tell you on the box how long it will stay in. The washouts or temps only last so many washings so if you wash your hair every day it may only last a short time, if you wash it 2 or 3 Xs a wk it may last a bit longer. Semi Perm will wash out or wear out and the box will tell you the estimated time. Perm will last until your roots grow out. And a warning about the comb through type that a friend of mine used many years ago. It rained. Not good. Not even sure they sell that kind anymore. Good luck in making up your mind. I stopped coloring mine, and what a relief. No worry about covering my roots or making an appointment to get color or buying and finding time to do myself. Ahhhh relief.

middle age pearl February 01, 2016

And know your gray/white hair may be a bit stiffer than your natural hair and that is why I colored for several years. Happy to say and share that eventually all those hairs ie silver, gray, white, calm down and now I use an extra good quality conditioner and shampoo. Made a world of difference in the texture (thank goodness)

NorthernSeeker February 03, 2016

I ended up letting my hair grow out and it took about a year. For a time I had a shag cut. It's nice not to have the expense of colour. My hair is about 50/50 grey and brown.

Deleted user February 14, 2016

Hair :-( mine is abysmal ....

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.