BOOKS! in Book Book

  • Jan. 27, 2016, 9:12 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So I started a new book for books because BOOKS!!!

Book Club Update:

Books I have read in 2016:

You - For those of you thinking of reading this one or have already read it…there is a sequel coming out on Feb 23 and I have it on pre-order.
Her
We Were Liars
Luckiest Girl Alive
A Dark and Twisted Tide
The Memory Box
Night Film - THIS BOOK. It’s long but recommend. The end is....I don’t even know.

NEW:

In The Woods - I really want to read Broken Harbor but it’s the 4th book in a series of which this is the first. I REALLY liked this book. I found the bigger mystery much more compelling than the smaller mystery and I hope the bigger mystery is resolved or further investigated as the series goes on.

The Likeness - 2nd in the series. I’m only on page 37 but I’m already engrossed because I know the characters.

To summarize I’ve read 8 books in January (so far) and this is primarily because I haven’t been watching any (or very little) television.

If you want to read a real entry about some of my Toronto adventures and my TripAdvisor review…go back 1.


amateursbox January 27, 2016

A book about books. I'm EXCITED!

Deleted user January 27, 2016

Luckiest Girl Alive and Night Film are both on my reading list.

Jeanine January 27, 2016

Do you have a Goodreads? If not, you should get one! I love following people's reviews! I will look into adding some of these to my hold list!

MaggieTheCat Jeanine ⋅ January 27, 2016

I do. And I stalkfollow you!!

Jeanine MaggieTheCat ⋅ January 27, 2016

I must follow you too! Hahaha. I just have a no good memory.

pandora January 27, 2016

I got so many Indigo gift cards for my birthday. Which of these do you recommend most? I'm on book four of 2016, but I thought I'd be further along! Blink just isn't keeping my attention the way the others were, plus all the birthday stuff in there threw me off.

MaggieTheCat pandora ⋅ January 27, 2016

I hate recommending!!

But I would recommend Station Eleven, which I read last year and Pat read this year and we both LOVED! It's a dystopian future type book but immensely readable and more about the people than the dystopia.

pandora MaggieTheCat ⋅ January 27, 2016

Awesome, thanks! What about for the non-put-down-able books from Elaine Benes' list?

MaggieTheCat pandora ⋅ January 27, 2016

I didn't love "Her" but I liked "You" but I thought it could have been a little shorter.

Luckiest Girl Alive was good. I really liked The Memory Box. I liked it even more at the end because of the conceit she uses as a writer.

We Were Liars was good. YA so an easy read.

I really loved "Night Film" which was from another list of page-turners that I found on the net.

"A page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious death of a troubled prodigy—the daughter of an iconic, reclusive filmmaker."

pandora MaggieTheCat ⋅ January 27, 2016

I didn't love Luckiest Girl Alive. I like Gillian Flynn and Stephen King though, maybe I'll check out Night Film! Thanks!

MaggieTheCat pandora ⋅ January 27, 2016

Yah. I didn't love it either.

MaggieTheCat pandora ⋅ January 27, 2016

"Night Film" was also on my Good Reads 'to read' list already because EW had recommended it as well.

plushcreep January 27, 2016

Well, now I want to read Night Film!

MaggieTheCat plushcreep ⋅ January 27, 2016

You should (want to read it).

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.