Tattoo thoughts and fixing stuff in Diary

  • Jan. 24, 2016, 1:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m bored of my job already. I’ve only been there eight months and get on REALLY well with most of my colleagues, the job is easy and the pay is fine. But it’s so boring, just the same thing day in, day out. Answer the phone, get yelled at for not fixing someone’s boiler quickly enough. Open an email, log yet another job for someone else’s broken boiler or put up a set of shelves. Repeat ad finitum; my entire job is literally just logging maintenance jobs and chasing the progress on them, it’s so bloody boring. At least when I worked in facilities management before, it was a bit more varied. Taking meeting minutes, making sure the paperwork for all the vehicles was up to date, looking after the sub-contractors database, a bit of photography. But this is just the same thing over and over again, and I still don’t know what I want to do with my life. I thought I did, with the dog walking, but it turned out that no, that wasn’t what I wanted to do. I’m 34 and I still haven’t started my career!



I’ve been having thoughts about getting another tattoo. So far I only have a tiny tree frog crawling up the front of my right hip. I’ve been considering a roller derby themed one, possibly on the outside of my left thigh. I know I won’t be skating forever, but I’ve been doing it for almost two years and, whenever I do stop skating, it will always represent this time in my life. I’ve been looking at loads of tattoos online and there’s only one so far that’s really caught my eye, but it’s popped up quite a few times so I don’t want to be the same as everyone else. I’ve never seen it in real life, however, so I’m not sure of the chances of me actually meeting anyone who has it! She even has the same elbow pads as me, haha.

I wouldn’t have her standing on a skull, though. She’ll probably be standing on her helmet and not have it under her arm, and she’ll obviously be wearing a purple top. What do you think?

I also quite like bats.

I’ll be thinking about it for a long while, though, before I ink myself for life.



I made a Clanger! Jay’s best mate and his wife asked me to make a Clanger for their daughter. I’m not normally very good at making toys but I had a go and I’m really pleased with the result. It took a LOT longer than I thought it would, though. The main body didn’t take all that long, but all the little bits took forever; the hair, the armour, the ears, oh my word. People kept telling me I should make them to sell, but I’d have to charge a couple of hundred pounds to get my time paid for!



In the last week, I’ve been trying to fix various things around the house including the boiler, washing machine and my car. The boiler broke last weekend, we had no heating or hot water for about four days. It was so cold inside the house you could see your breath, it wasn’t nice. Me and Jay tried to fix it with YouTube videos but we couldn’t, so we’ve had to pay for an engineer; he replaced the pump and cleaned the scale from the heat exchange so it’s ok for now, but we’ve now got insurance on it so should be covered if it goes again.

Washing machine we had an F11 error yesterday. I looked it up online, the manufacturer website said we must call an engineer. Of course they’d say that! I looked it up online and managed to fix it myself, for now. We’ll see if it works next time I need to do a load.

Finally, my car. One of our neighbours knocked on the door the other night saying he had a flat tyre but no spare, could he borrow my spare wheel? It turns out my spare wheel isn’t in the boot as I thought it would be, it was underneath the car in some sort of a cage that he had to unscrew. He promised he would bring it back the next day with a bottle of something. Sure he did, he dropped it off with Jay when I wasn’t in and brought no bottle. Me and Jay then spent about an hour crawling about on the floor underneath the car trying to get it back into this bloody cage. Good deeds huh, at least I got my spare wheel back.


Last updated January 24, 2016


Camdengirl January 24, 2016

I'm mega impressed by the Clanger! They are v popular in our house!

Babe In Toyland January 25, 2016

Would you not like to do something outdoorsy? You're not too old to train up to do something, an NVQ or something...

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ January 26, 2016

No I only like being outdoors when the weather's nice, haha. As I discovered when I was walking all those dogs, I hate being out in the rain and snow and wind. If I could follow summer around the world I would love it!

Babe In Toyland January 25, 2016

Oh, and I love your tattoo idea! Instead of her having hearts on her thigh, you could give her a gothy edge by having bats there.

history of love January 27, 2016

Both tattoo's look amazing. They definitely seem your style.

I'm with you on the office work (even though my 2 uni jobs have been duds). What about working in a university or something? One of my favourite jobs was working for the Care Inspectorate, like your CQC. Or project manager?
x

Bomb Shell history of love ⋅ February 02, 2016

When I last worked in Facilities Management, that was at a university and I loved it there. I might take a look and see what's available, there are plenty of universities around here!

Vee January 31, 2016

Maybe you could discuss with your boss about taking on a bit more responsibility, they might be able to find you something.
I also like the idea of adding bats to that tattoo. Maybe you could put them in the background with a big full moon and have her in a purple top to make it yours and to represent your Derby team.

Bomb Shell Vee ⋅ February 02, 2016

Sadly that isn't an option, basically we're a call centre; admin staff is separate here. I think I was disillusioned when I applied for it and thought it would be the same as my last facilities management job, where call centre and admin were combined. I need to have a serious think as to what I want to do :o(

Vee January 31, 2016

And I've just re read the bit where you already aid she'll be wearing purple. Duh :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.