Blogging debate in Safety Net

  • Jan. 23, 2016, 6:48 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m the night manager at a local gas station. I know, I know. I manage to find the most glamorous jobs. I really need to find something else because I really need health insurance again (these migraine meds are ridiculously expensive) and I’ve applied a few places, but even when I get called about setting up an interview, I’m having a hard time making myself do it. My biggest complaint with my current job (other than the lack of health insurance) is that I get so bored. I had a professor on college tell me once that the hardest thing for an intelligent person to do is nothing. He wasn’t kidding. The manager is great. It’s a family owned/operated store. The assistant manager is the manager’s sister. While she’s basically nice to my face and respects what I do and that I’m able to control the slacker high school/college kids that work at night with me, she’s a total bitch behind my back. Everybody knows she doesn’t like me. Coworkers, customers…everyone. I’ve learned some seriously interesting things about myself from some of my coworkers that they’ve heard from her. But it really doesn’t bother me that much. Like I said, if I had benefits, I really wouldn’t mind my job so much. So other than the assistant manager, the lack of benefits, and the boredom, there’s one last thing that really gets on my nerves: the radio. This is where my title comes in.

The only station that comes in on our radio is the local country station. Believe me, I’ve tried to change it. Nobody else minds it. They all listen to country. Me? Well, now…I pride myself on my diverse taste in music. I credit my musical upbringing. You will find almost every genre on my iPod. Classical, hard rock, punk, metal, polka, jazz, reggae, hip hop, yes even a few random country songs. For the most part, I don’t listen to country music. I don’t know exactly why, but I just don’t like it. So every night, I get the great joy of listening to the same damn songs over, and over, and over. There are a few that I don’t mind, but most of them drive me crazy. I’ve mentioned to a few people that I should start a blog about all of the life lessons I’m learning from country music. They all think I should, especially my sisters. I thought about just making another book here, but I don’t know that I really want everyone else reading everything else. So maybe I’ll just start another, separate blog? Ideas? Suggestions?


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.