Friday AM 6:34 in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • Jan. 22, 2016, 6:34 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The roads are still bad in the outlying areas so most schools have cancelled again today and the big district that didn’t are running snow routes.

Owen is going to stay with us today. His mom, A, has an interview for a 2d job. I think it is stocking some kind of snack food. It will only be a couple of days a week and one of them is Monday, which is a day off for her anyway. Yes I will be helping her out with Owen, but it should be fine. He will come here to catch the bus on those two mornings, which will be just after J catches his bus. Well, that is, when winter freezing stuff gives us a break. I think he will ride the bus back to my house on those days too, but expect his Mom will be home by the time he gets home on Monday. She will see how it goes and if she gets it. She is not making enough to get ahead as a stylist. She has really good quarters, and then not so good quarters so she is making it, but not really getting ahead. Time will tell, so please throw a good thought or a prayer her way. DIL has been doing this part time for a few weeks and gave A’s name to the vendor or whatever they are called. DIL really likes it and hope it turns into full time. She is still working the Gen Dollar store, but they too, extra.

I received the vacation time in my account yesterday. WooHoo. However, not going to go crazy spending any of it cause it sounds like I may not get a retirement check until April. Need to be conservative and then when everything is lined out on my retirement pay, I’ll see where that line takes me. I would like to get new glasses and a new mattress set. That is the big spending plans I’ve been planning for some time now. I think I finally have my mattresses padded enough to keep from waking up in pain so I may put that off and since I think I can still see, well, that too. lol

Had trouble with the embroidery part of the new sewing machine yesterday. I’m going to start all over, read the instructions in order, and pray that whatever was the problem, was my doing and not the machine’s problem. Wonder if I can take it to the store if it is the machine’s problem since I ordered through walmart.com? It was shipped to my local walmart though. Through a prayer in for me and machine too please. Never did get the burp pad done yesterday so hopefully today I’ll make some progress.

That is it for now. Take care and God Bless

**Edit-Yep it was me and not the machine. Yay! Lesson learned.


Last updated January 22, 2016


GypsyWynd January 22, 2016

Glad you got the sewing machine sorted out.
We ordered olive oil from Wal-Mart.com, and it was spoiled. We took it back to the store (with the receipt), and they replaced it.

middle age pearl GypsyWynd ⋅ January 22, 2016

Good to know that info. Just hope I don't have to use it. :) Thanks

~Harmonie~ January 22, 2016

I have to get back to my machines. I got my embroidery/sewing machine from Wal Mart as well, but I am really to the point that I would love a commercial type embroidery machine. Something that I could actually take some bigger orders on. I know somebody with one and absolutely love hers. Dreaming there though. Oh well. Right now I would just be happy to get mine set back up! Hugs,M

~Harmonie~ January 22, 2016

aunty EM January 23, 2016

We, here on the Front Range, have been lucky so far this winter with no big storms...knock on wood...but it's a long time until June. We often get hammered later. I think February & March are our "snowiest" months..

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.